Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Jul Thu 31, 2014 4:34 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: zenith transoceanic
PostPosted: Sep Mon 10, 2012 2:38 pm 

was thinking about buying a transoceanic.was wondering what the best model is for dxing?are the royals the best?

Post subject: Re: zenith transoceanic
PostPosted: Sep Mon 10, 2012 2:56 pm 

I'm not an expert by any means but some think the last ones are the best ones. The Royal 7000 series. I've had a number of tube ones and they worked well but the 1L6 tube is hard to find and expensive.

AFAIK "Royal" means transistorized. The 1000 doesn't have FM, the 3000 and 3000-1 are probably the most common and most reasonably priced, I've had a number of them. Last one was $10 at a garage sale. Then came the 7000. The handle/antenna on the 1000 and 3000 can be troublesome and is sometimes broken. Shortwave is starting to become pretty empty so FM is nice.

As far as collectablility, the first ones and the last ones seem have the most interest, also the brown case versions. As far as AM dxing, my GE P-780's with an external antenna are as good or better than my 3000-1 TO but none are fully restored or aligned so it might not be a fair comparision.

PostPosted: Sep Mon 10, 2012 3:34 pm 
Silent Key

Possible I can get an R600 for $50 locally this week. The seller bought it new. 1954 or so.

PostPosted: Sep Mon 10, 2012 6:26 pm 

It does depend on what you will mostly use it for but the later ones , 3000, 7000 have more features. Definitely they are more practical but I am not sure if they actually pull in more stations. Obviously its nice to have FM these days.