Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Sep Mon 22, 2014 11:14 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Help Identify this antique "Philco" Radio
PostPosted: Nov Fri 09, 2012 3:59 am 

I am completely new to this hobby, was offered to purchase this restored "1938 Antique Philco Radio", but I don't see the usual philco stencil on the radio itself, Could anyone tell me if this is indeed a philco? year and model of this particular radio? What is the fair purchase price for such a radio? thank you for all your help

Post subject: Re: Help Identify this antique "Philco" Radio
PostPosted: Nov Fri 09, 2012 4:12 am 

Well, I don't claim to be a Philco expert but it seems obvious that the cabinet has been refinished and in that process, the Philco decal probably was dissolved. I think most Philcos had a paper label designating the model #, etc. on one of the walls on the inside of the cabinet (viewed from the back). Does that one have a label inside?

The cabinet, knobs, and dial have the earmarks of Philco radios of the late 1930-early 1940 era.

PostPosted: Nov Fri 09, 2012 4:28 am 

I am purchasing this unit from across the country, I won't be able to see it up close, the seller asked for $250 which I thought is fair due to the pictured condition, after some searching online I was able to find a completed ebay auction of the same radio in unrestored condition that ended at only $35, now I have some doubts about the price, but still I am uncertain of the year and model of this radio.

My seller told me this is a 1938 vintage radio, but the plastic dial seems to indicate a later model year? the auction description states" the chasis type is 32A and Code is 121"

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-1940-Philco-Broadcast-Tube-Radio-/261113641831?nma=true&si=S7j0ctzsiO0g4ypznDfSkGeIVS8%3D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557