Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Sep Wed 19, 2018 5:56 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Crosley Super Eleven
PostPosted: Mar Mon 05, 2018 11:20 pm 

I bought a Crosley Super Eleven last year in a garage sale and have looked at some of the archives. A Gregd also was asking about it in June 13, 2010 and I followed the thread.
While the unit is in very good condition there are at least two tubes are broken, and I'm sure others are bad and need of testing. Then there is talk on the thread of a potentially bad resistor and I also need to rewire and ground the chassis.
As I'm new to this, I have three questions before I plunge into the endeavor of making it functional are:
Where can I find a tube tester (without having to buy one online)in the Portland Oregon area without having to purchase $200 of new/old tubes?
Will replacing the cord with the ground am I hurting the value while making it safer? (No such thing as a dumb question; only dumb people!)
Is the value of this radio when it works worth the time and money? ( The wife asked me that.)

Post subject: Re: Crosley Super Eleven
PostPosted: Mar Tue 06, 2018 2:59 am 

mine had severe problems when i got it for a song.

i sunk quite a bit of time and money into mine, but for me, it was well worth it in the end.

it is a fantastic radio and is one of my favorites.

here is the thread:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=229222

here is the vid:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrZWC68hh5w

transformer selection thread:

http://www.antiqueradios.com/forums/vie ... 1&t=226051

steve

PostPosted: Mar Tue 06, 2018 4:43 am 

You say you have looked at other threads. Did any of those mention replacing capacitors? The filter (electrolytic) and any wax \ paper caps will need to be replaced. Do you have a schematic? Do you read schematics?

PostPosted: Mar Tue 06, 2018 4:10 pm