Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Sep Sat 22, 2018 2:58 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: RCA Radiola with 103 loudspeaker
PostPosted: Mar Wed 07, 2018 6:30 am 
Member

Joined: Jul Mon 03, 2017 6:06 am
Posts: 74
I just got this on Saturday. The tuner was froze up. I disassembled it and sprayed it with Liquid wrench and after it set for about 10 minutes it now works very smooth. All the tubes look to be from 1934 and original. I am going to see if it works tomorrow.


Attachments:
CIMG9708.JPG
CIMG9708.JPG [ 192.86 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]
CIMG9709.JPG
CIMG9709.JPG [ 211.73 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]
CIMG9710.JPG
CIMG9710.JPG [ 194.63 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]
CIMG9712.JPG
CIMG9712.JPG [ 175.6 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]
CIMG9716.JPG
CIMG9716.JPG [ 171.53 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]
CIMG3289.JPG
CIMG3289.JPG [ 191.66 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]
CIMG3308.JPG
CIMG3308.JPG [ 192.31 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]
CIMG3312.JPG
CIMG3312.JPG [ 157.25 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]
CIMG3313.JPG
CIMG3313.JPG [ 155.06 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]
CIMG3314.JPG
CIMG3314.JPG [ 134.01 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]


Last edited by Manimarco on Mar Wed 07, 2018 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA Radiola with 103 loudspeaker
PostPosted: Mar Wed 07, 2018 7:47 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Sat 17, 2014 6:55 am
Posts: 162
That's one hell of a deal. It's got the lamp hood, and a 103 speaker too. Been looking all over for one of those for my 60!

_________________
The smoke means it's working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA Radiola with 103 loudspeaker
PostPosted: Mar Wed 07, 2018 9:57 am 
Member

Joined: Jul Mon 03, 2017 6:06 am
Posts: 74
ForkInSocket wrote:
That's one hell of a deal. It's got the lamp hood, and a 103 speaker too. Been looking all over for one of those for my 60!


I was real happy to find it. I may sell it But not sure yet. I got it at a real good price. I want to here it first. I have not checked the 103 to see if it works yet but it looks to be in pretty good original condition. The 80 year old lady I bought it from said it worked the last time her husband plugged it in so who knows?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA Radiola with 103 loudspeaker
PostPosted: Mar Wed 07, 2018 7:13 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb Thu 17, 2011 11:27 pm
Posts: 11441
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Nice find. Those are often found still playing with little or no service to the chassis, so you have a good chance. I heard the capacitors used a special paper at the time that held up incredibly well. This was the case with my 60. I still haven't even cleaned the webs from the chassis. I don't want to disturb anything!
You usually see the 18 with the 100A speaker and the 103 with the 60, but they were all advertised together and the pairing is period correct. Enjoy!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA Radiola with 103 loudspeaker
PostPosted: Mar Wed 07, 2018 8:44 pm 
Member

Joined: Jul Mon 03, 2017 6:06 am
Posts: 74
decojoe67 wrote:
Nice find. Those are often found still playing with little or no service to the chassis, so you have a good chance. I heard the capacitors used a special paper at the time that held up incredibly well. This was the case with my 60. I still haven't even cleaned the webs from the chassis. I don't want to disturb anything!
You usually see the 18 with the 100A speaker and the 103 with the 60, but they were all advertised together and the pairing is period correct. Enjoy!


I did clean the cobwebs and dirt off but that is it. I feel that it should be done. That dirt and the spider webs can do damage to the paint and other things (Spider webs are flammable). Especially here in Florida with humidity being so bad. It soaks right into the dirt and starts rusting things over night.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA Radiola with 103 loudspeaker
PostPosted: Mar Wed 07, 2018 11:51 pm 
Member

Joined: Jul Mon 03, 2017 6:06 am
Posts: 74
I just powered it up and it works great. Even with just the 3 foot original antenna I got 8 stations. This is the most original antique radio I have. It is in fact all original, Tubes, Wires, power cord + antenna, Capacitors, All original! Plus the speaker is all original to!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA Radiola with 103 loudspeaker
PostPosted: Mar Thu 08, 2018 12:06 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb Thu 17, 2011 11:27 pm
Posts: 11441
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Manimarco wrote:
I just powered it up and it works great. Even with just the 3 foot original antenna I got 8 stations. This is the most original antique radio I have. It is in fact all original, Tubes, Wires, power cord + antenna, Capacitors, All original! Plus the speaker is all original to!

Excellent! I couldn't believe it when my one repaiman who sold me my 60 said to just go ahead and use it as-is! For a set from 1928 it's really amazing. By the way, my 60 chassis really isn't that grimy, just the typical light coating of dust and a few light webs. Something just told me to leave well enough alone when I got it home! I use my sets sparingly anyway. Enjoy your set.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA Radiola with 103 loudspeaker
PostPosted: Mar Fri 09, 2018 12:09 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1299
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Radiola 18 I believe.

I have never seen one with the original lamp hood.

If is has never been out of the cabinet it will have a sheet of asbestos under the power supply chassis.

These work OK although the super het (Radiola 60) is a better set.

Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA Radiola with 103 loudspeaker
PostPosted: Mar Fri 09, 2018 1:28 am 
Member

Joined: Jul Mon 03, 2017 6:06 am
Posts: 74
jimmc wrote:
Radiola 18 I believe.

I have never seen one with the original lamp hood.

If is has never been out of the cabinet it will have a sheet of asbestos under the power supply chassis.

These work OK although the super het (Radiola 60) is a better set.

Jim


Yes it does have the asbestos under the power supply. That was one of the first things I noticed. Yes I believe the hood is original. I had to adjust it but it fits nice now.


Attachments:
CIMG3337.JPG
CIMG3337.JPG [ 159.27 KiB | Viewed 450 times ]
CIMG3354.JPG
CIMG3354.JPG [ 197.6 KiB | Viewed 450 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 9 posts ]  Moderator: sofaslug

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: calmark, Google Adsense [Bot], kodak2424, sergneri, sofaslug and 8 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB