Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Sep Mon 24, 2018 10:30 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Zenith Neon
PostPosted: Jun Wed 06, 2012 1:12 pm 

I have seen this Zenith neon and in fact I own one.

I have seen this Zenith sign multiple times.

But I have never seen the two combined.

Has anyone lese seen this combination?

http://www.liveauctioneers.com/item/117 ... t-in-radio

Also at the same auction is the Philco sign that I believe was offerred here.

http://www.liveauctioneers.com/item/117 ... t-in-radio

http://www.myantiqueradio.com

Post subject: Re: Zenith Neon
PostPosted: Jun Thu 07, 2012 1:22 am 

I'm no Zenith expert, by any means, but I to have seen a number of original painted metal signs and window neon displays. I've always been under the impression that those painted metal signs were designed to be mounted flush against a wall. I'm convinced that this neon sign is a fairly recent creation made from an original painted Zenith metal sign. Whether it was done for personal enjoyment or for profit, I can say. The neon tubing looks new and where is the transformer located. That sign is big enough so that if it were originally done as a neon sign, way back when, then the high voltage transformer would have been mounted somewhere on the back as was the normal thing to do for large neon signs of that time period. I can't tell if that sign was meant to hang or free stand. I'd sure be curious as to what the back of that sign looks like.

PostPosted: Jun Thu 07, 2012 12:04 pm 

Art:

A long-time radio collector friend of mine has the same version of this Zenith Neon sign. I have seen his up-close-and-personal. It is very large and all original.

BR,

Terry

PostPosted: Jun Thu 07, 2012 4:30 pm 

radioterry wrote:
Art: