Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Jun Sat 23, 2018 10:39 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 678 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 30, 31, 32, 33, 34  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Mon 20, 2017 8:22 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 22720
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
Pbpix wrote:
How could you wait?



I was screwing around with trying to understand the 5 band resistor code. What a PITA. Then it was dinner time.
Very exciting to just get the proper voltages. Will work on it tomorrow.
I called you, but you must have been out katt in around.

I be here now

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Mon 20, 2017 8:36 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 22720
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
But I had to make a new chassy.
.

What is that? .... :mrgreen:

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Mon 20, 2017 7:50 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Los Angeles
Pbpix wrote:
john8750 wrote:
But I had to make a new chassy.
.

What is that? .... :mrgreen:



A chassy is a chassis before it has anything mounted on it :wink:
Gonna try to pollute the air today. I wonder about L3. The choke Mouser sent me looks nothing like the one others used.
Had to deal with my women last night, forgot to call back :lol:

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Tue 21, 2017 2:11 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Los Angeles
I'm on the air :!:
Hooked up a four foot antenna, and an ipod. Found the spot real easy. Seems the carrier is wide enough. The voice quality is not hi-fi, but pretty good. The trimmer cap seems to make no difference. Might be better with a 10' antenna. The radio was 12 feet from the transmitter with no problem. Tomorrow I will try to receive inside the house. Transmitter is in my shop, about 50' away. A fun project and easy to build.
Thanks to the designer and Deadshort for the kit. Also thanks to the Man who put this neat kit together for us. Seems that I am years late, but very happy with the results. Will post photos and more info 8) 8)

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Thu 23, 2017 12:49 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Los Angeles
Still out in my shop I connected a 10' wire antenna. Still, the tuning cap has no effect. I received the station out in my car, about 45' away, very strong. But inside the house, about 60' away, very week. My house is a prefab with aluminum siding. So placing the transmitter inside the house should work better.
I am waiting for a better volume pot to arrive. The mini pot works fine, but not long enough to install the knob. So I need to clean and restore the BTL cabinet. Also need to manufacture a way to mount the tuning knob back on the box. It will be there for looks only.
This is a great project. Very simple and works very well. Thanks again Men. :!:

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Fri 24, 2017 10:08 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 12582
If the tuning cap has no effect either it's defective, badly off spec, or the coil inductance is out of spec... Even if correct value, inductors meant for power supply useage won't resonate at RF frequencies...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Sat 25, 2017 12:15 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Los Angeles
35Z5 wrote:
If the tuning cap has no effect either it's defective, badly off spec, or the coil inductance is out of spec... Even if correct value, inductors meant for power supply useage won't resonate at RF frequencies...



Thanks. Are you saying that my L3 is not the correct type? I can change it. Or L2? I will check the trimmer values on an LCR meter.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Sat 25, 2017 12:48 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 12582
If coil is causing tuning problem it would be L2...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Sat 25, 2017 12:57 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Los Angeles
35Z5 wrote:
If coil is causing tuning problem it would be L2...



Thanks again. I will check it. It is the correct type. I did not check it for the correct value.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Sat 25, 2017 2:23 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Los Angeles
john8750 wrote:
35Z5 wrote:
If coil is causing tuning problem it would be L2...



Thanks again. I will check it. It is the correct type. I did not check it for the correct value.




I checked L2 at 1.01uh. So that is perfect. But VC1 stays at 54pf all the way through its travel. Should be 365pf.
Let me get a replacement. Other than that, the transmitter works well.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Sat 25, 2017 4:12 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 12582
john8750 wrote:
john8750 wrote:
I checked L2 at 1.01uh. So that is perfect. But VC1 stays at 54pf all the way through its travel. Should be 365pf.
Let me get a replacement. Other than that, the transmitter works well.


Do you mean 1.01mh?? 1.01uh is far too small value...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Sat 25, 2017 4:35 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Los Angeles
35Z5 wrote:
john8750 wrote:
john8750 wrote:
I checked L2 at 1.01uh. So that is perfect. But VC1 stays at 54pf all the way through its travel. Should be 365pf.
Let me get a replacement. Other than that, the transmitter works well.


Do you mean 1.01mh?? 1.01uh is far too small value...



Oh yes, it is the same as L1, 1mh.

I can get VC1 as a rotary tuning cap. Is that OK to use?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/132032487083?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Sat 25, 2017 5:19 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 7731
Location: Beautiful Downtown Burbank CA
John, as a test you can try any old AA5 or the like var cap.


When you tune the sweet spot, it will be like falling in love... again. :lol:
More "L" and less "C" seems to be the rule. They say why waste transmitter power through the air (variable).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Sat 25, 2017 7:41 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 22720
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
john8750 wrote:
35Z5 wrote:
If coil is causing tuning problem it would be L2...



Thanks again. I will check it. It is the correct type. I did not check it for the correct value.




I checked L2 at 1.01uh. So that is perfect. But VC1 stays at 54pf all the way through its travel. Should be 365pf.
Let me get a replacement. Other than that, the transmitter works well.

John:
Are you sure you are connecting that variable cap at the correct places?
The blades rotate... in the stator.

You should measure between the movable plates and the fixed plates ot housing.

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Feb Sat 25, 2017 9:52 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Los Angeles
Thanks guys. I have the trimmer type. It does not have discs. It is mounted correctly, and not shorted.
I will order the tuning cap and install it. I don't have an old AA5 for parts.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Apr Mon 10, 2017 12:52 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 6373
Location: Wilmington, NC 28412 USA
My DVD Player/Recorder on my Dell 8400 PC quit working
Sooooo Went looking through my Computer Parts.

Found a Box labeled 2 Good HD for 8400 PC

When opened I learned it contained the COMPLETE kit from Bill Hamre for the 12AV6/12CS6 Transmitter I purchased years ago and lost.



Like Christmas

Bob T


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Apr Mon 10, 2017 3:26 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Los Angeles
I repaired my transmitter. The antenna trimmer was glued to a piece of wood, and then to the chassis. But some glue was holding the trimmer plate closed. So I fixed it and now it works better. A real nice little kit. Thanks again. I'm gonna use it to re-broadcast AM1260 from my tablet and receive it on AM1000 with the 1946 RCA I just rebuilt.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Apr Mon 10, 2017 8:51 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 22720
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
I repaired my transmitter. The antenna trimmer was glued to a piece of wood, and then to the chassis. But some glue was holding the trimmer plate closed. So I fixed it and now it works better. A real nice little kit. Thanks again. I'm gonna use it to re-broadcast AM1260 from my tablet and receive it on AM1000 with the 1946 RCA I just rebuilt.

Let us know how that works John.

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Apr Mon 10, 2017 5:47 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 4581
Location: Los Angeles
Pbpix wrote:
john8750 wrote:
I repaired my transmitter. The antenna trimmer was glued to a piece of wood, and then to the chassis. But some glue was holding the trimmer plate closed. So I fixed it and now it works better. A real nice little kit. Thanks again. I'm gonna use it to re-broadcast AM1260 from my tablet and receive it on AM1000 with the 1946 RCA I just rebuilt.

Let us know how that works John.



I will Peter. I don't see a problem. If anyone would like a tube AM broadcaster, build this set. A very simple and rewarding project.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 12AV6-12CS6 Transmitter(Revised Schematic)
PostPosted: Dec Sat 30, 2017 9:27 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Mon 04, 2010 2:52 am
Posts: 2427
I think that it's well overdue to open up an old thread. Given that the Electronic Goldmine G12951 (Epec YS57H-110FA equivalent) transformers just don't seem to be available anymore for the 12AV6-12CS6 AM transmitter kit, why can't one just substitute in a simple 12VAC 2A power transformer to begin with? Basically, all one then really needs is a full wave bridge connected to the line, and that should deliver something like 170VAC RMS for the B+. Of course, we would also need a 5VDC power source for the can oscillator, but I would imagine something can be conjured up (with a little ingenuity) by tapping the 12VAC secondary along perhaps with the inclusion of a simple 5VDC regulator. This is just something from the top of my head, but it's just a thought. Any other suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 678 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 30, 31, 32, 33, 34  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB