Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Jun Mon 18, 2018 2:58 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Wed 13, 2018 9:27 pm 
New Member

Joined: May Sat 26, 2018 1:55 am
Posts: 22
Location: Horse Shoe NC 28742
I have a 1936 Clinton 147 table radio and was told when I acquired it that it needs a new power transformer. Can someone direct me as to the feasibility of me locating one for this set.
I believe this set was also produced as a Marshall 240. The set is in very nice condition so
I think it is something that I would like to fix.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Wed 13, 2018 11:28 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 16, 2007 7:02 am
Posts: 2399
Location: Lexington, KY USA
Did this set come with any power transformer in the first place? If not, you probably don't need to find one!

Google leads to several versions that are all AC-DC.

Any set with a ballast, or with 43, or 25Z5 tubes is very unlikely to have had any power transformer.

Does your radio resemble these at RadioMuseum?

https://www.radiomuseum.org/r/clinton_240_147.html
https://www.radiomuseum.org/r/clinton_147.html

The tube line-up would be a clue. As would be some photos.

Unless some competent work has been done on the radio recently, you will need to do some work before it can be safely powered-up.

Ted

Ted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 12:21 am 
New Member

Joined: May Sat 26, 2018 1:55 am
Posts: 22
Location: Horse Shoe NC 28742
Hello Ted, Thanks for responding. I went down to the cave to take a couple of pictures.
I had forgotten that there was a tube missing. The paper label that would have the tube lineup is not on the inside of the cabinet. I have never plugged this in and realize that you should use a variac to
power these older sets up.
Regards,
Pete


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 7.13.24 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 7.13.24 PM.png [ 163.83 KiB | Viewed 104 times ]
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 7.13.11 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 7.13.11 PM.png [ 198.5 KiB | Viewed 104 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 12:41 am 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 36621
Location: Livermore, CA
Pete

May be this one?

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/pagesbymode ... 003887.pdf

If so the missing tube would be an 80, 4 pin tube.

If you apply power to the radio without the 80 others will light but transformer should not get hot.

_________________
Norm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 1:20 am 
New Member

Joined: May Sat 26, 2018 1:55 am
Posts: 22
Location: Horse Shoe NC 28742
Thanks for the reply Norm; I just found this doing a google search. Of course I can't really read it.
But I don't think there is an 80 tube in the line up. I could figure out how to have the page emailed to me like I did on my Rogers set a couple of weeks ago. Tough being technically challenged.


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 8.15.28 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 8.15.28 PM.png [ 205.58 KiB | Viewed 98 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 1:37 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Mon 26, 2010 8:30 pm
Posts: 22303
Location: Annapolis, MD
Definitely no power transformer---do you suppose they meant it needed an output transformer? Regardless, we can talk you through how to check things out.

_________________
-Mark http://pixellany.com

"It's always something". --Gilda Radner (1946 - 1989)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 2:48 am 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 36621
Location: Livermore, CA
Your photo shows a power transformer, right side, so it's not that schematic.

_________________
Norm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 3:13 am 
New Member

Joined: May Sat 26, 2018 1:55 am
Posts: 22
Location: Horse Shoe NC 28742
I picked this radio up about 4 years ago and I certainly might have been told the output transformer was bad. I just remember hearing the word transformer. I have several radios with multi colored dials recapped and tubes etc replaced by a tech a few years ago; but I never brought this one in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 3:19 am 
New Member

Joined: May Sat 26, 2018 1:55 am
Posts: 22
Location: Horse Shoe NC 28742
Hello Norm, so did the detrolaa 147 schematic have a power transformer like mine has on the right hand side.
As I mentioned in the last post memory is a little shaky about the transaction when I obtained. At that time I was just interested in it for the look and size of the set. Now I have become interested in getting it operational.
I really appreciate everyones feedback and help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 4:08 am 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 36621
Location: Livermore, CA
The Detrola 147 has a power transformer. It also has 2 - 42 tubes but I don't see that in your photo.

One thing we forgot to ask, what tubes are in your radio? Sometimes we can find a proper schematic by knowing tube types.

_________________
Norm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 5:00 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Tue 16, 2007 7:02 am
Posts: 2399
Location: Lexington, KY USA
Pete,

If the photos you posted are of your radio, I posted links to the wrong schematics!

You can see both a power transformer and an output transformer in the shot of the rear of the set.

Perhaps Norm has found the right schematic.

The tubes that are still in the set might help ID it. Be careful about the tube numbers on the tubes. Sometimes they wipe right off when you try to clean the tube.

If you remove the chassis from the cabinet, put a piece of cardboard over the speaker to protect the cone.

It would be OK to power the radio through a dim bulb and with the rectifier tube removed. If the remaining tubes light up and the dim bulb remains dim, let it run for an hour and verify that the power transformer does not get hot. You might also measure the voltages coming out of the power transformer, but be very careful about the high voltage winding of the transformer. This winding should connect to pins 2 and 3 of the 80 rectifier tube.

Ted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 5:37 pm 
New Member

Joined: May Sat 26, 2018 1:55 am
Posts: 22
Location: Horse Shoe NC 28742
Ok went down to the shed this am and located this old school contraption. Dim bulb on top works and
I connected it to the varian that I had so I can monitor the voltage on the front meter.
Not sure what wattage bulb I should have in there. I put a 40 watt in and nothing but the florescent
bulb flickers with the little Philips radio connected. Now How is the rectifier tube identified that I am supposed to
remove before I test to see if the transformer heats up..?


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2018-06-14 at 12.31.19 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-14 at 12.31.19 PM.png [ 152.48 KiB | Viewed 62 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 5:46 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 36621
Location: Livermore, CA
Rectifier is most likely the missing tube, near power transformer. Could be an 80 if socket has 4 pins.

With the rectifier removed should see other tubes lighting.

_________________
Norm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 6:09 pm 
New Member

Joined: May Sat 26, 2018 1:55 am
Posts: 22
Location: Horse Shoe NC 28742
I hooked up to dim bulb with a 40 watt bulb and bulb continues to get brighter; stopped at 30 volts,
no tubes in set glowing at this point. Dim bulb increases in brightness as voltage was increased.


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2018-06-14 at 1.06.21 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-14 at 1.06.21 PM.png [ 147.68 KiB | Viewed 57 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 11:44 pm 
New Member

Joined: May Sat 26, 2018 1:55 am
Posts: 22
Location: Horse Shoe NC 28742
so here is what is in there for tubes. the missing tube is presumed to be an 80


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2018-06-14 at 6.42.33 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-14 at 6.42.33 PM.png [ 89.23 KiB | Viewed 43 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Thu 14, 2018 11:52 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 36621
Location: Livermore, CA
Hi

That helps. You actually also have an eye tube. Here are the Clinton models with those tubes:

http://www.grillecloth.com/sylvania/tub ... ubmit&db=5

_________________
Norm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power transformer for Clinton 147
PostPosted: Jun Fri 15, 2018 12:06 am 
New Member

Joined: May Sat 26, 2018 1:55 am
Posts: 22
Location: Horse Shoe NC 28742
I looked up the 3 model numbers, one was a console, the 824XF was altogether different and when I typed in 157 I was taken to a Kent 147 table set that doesn't look like mine?????


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tom Bavis and 6 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB