Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Nov Wed 14, 2018 11:08 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Tue 06, 2018 9:52 pm 
Member

Joined: Jul Tue 03, 2012 10:45 pm
Posts: 34
Hi All,

I’m finally getting around to my first restoration, an Emerson 652B. I’ve gone through several YouTube videos and notice the use of way oversize schematics. Since my eyesight is not all that good, does anyone know where to obtain those large copies? Are they available only for certain manufacturers or can one take an 8-1/2 X 11 to Office Max and have them copy the original to a larger size without compromising clarity legibility?

Any tips greatly appreciated.
Ed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Tue 06, 2018 10:09 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Mon 26, 2010 8:30 pm
Posts: 23789
Location: Annapolis, MD
Taking Rider's as an example, many of the scans available are not that good. One of the better sources is americanradiohistory (dot something). I have one of the "hi-res" DVDs from EBay. They are better than nostalgiaair, but not as good as American Radio History.

You'll get the best result by first cropping and maybe some "tuneup" in a photo editor, and then getting them printed at 11x17.

13x19 is even better, but...at many print shops...costs a lot more. For this, I'd just buy an inkjet printer.

_________________
-Mark http://pixellany.com

"It's always something". --Gilda Radner (1946 - 1989)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Tue 06, 2018 10:47 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct Sun 05, 2008 7:39 pm
Posts: 668
Location: Northern Minn. 56472
Yes, as Mark mentioned, first locate a good clear copy of your schematic.

Then I have taken them into an office supply store and have them printed on a large format copier or even a large photo plotter like architects use for large floor plans. These only cost me a couple of bucks.

Thanks
G.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Wed 07, 2018 1:34 am 
Member

Joined: Nov Mon 13, 2006 2:59 pm
Posts: 244
Location: Friendswood, Texas
Attachment:
Poster Print.JPG
Poster Print.JPG [ 69.34 KiB | Viewed 1012 times ]

If the schematic is a .pdf file, Adobe Acrobat Reader lets you print poster size.
It will print the page over multiple 8.5" x 11.0" sheets. at 190% it will print on 4 sheets. It will print cut lines,
where the sheets overlap. I cut on those lines and tape the sheets together for a larger
schematic.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Wed 07, 2018 4:07 pm 
Member

Joined: Aug Mon 17, 2009 4:11 pm
Posts: 3205
Location: DFW Texas
Most Staples have a copy center where they can print on 36" wide paper. Even if enlarged to 24x36 should cost less than $4 each.

_________________
The lucky ones realize the "Good Ole Days" while they are still in them!
AA5LP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Wed 07, 2018 4:33 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 9150
Location: 42001 KY
I do what Dave suggested , print them out cut and tape together.

_________________
... .. --. -. .- - ..- .-. .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Wed 07, 2018 4:36 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Tue 01, 2015 5:31 am
Posts: 1745
Location: Columbus Ohio
If you 24x36 or up to that size, consider a 24" roll fed plotter, color inkjet, Canon and HP make them.
For less than a $1000. I work for a Canon dealer, we do large format exclusively. But you can go to Amazon or eBay and get them too.
https://www.amazon.com/Canon-imagePROGR ... at+Printer

edit: A customer can send us the pdf file, we charge about .40 per sq ft, so a 24x36 would be $2.40. Check your area for a blueprint shop, they all use
digital printers now.

_________________
Joe - There's no shortage of cruelty to animals: http://joinASPCA.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Wed 07, 2018 8:19 pm 
Member

Joined: Jul Tue 03, 2012 10:45 pm
Posts: 34
Wow! Looks like several ways to go, all good!

Thanks to all who responded with these great solutions.

Ed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Thu 08, 2018 3:42 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 608
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
Yeah you can do a lot with a good clear copy, but.. I find the best copy I can, paste the image into DeltaCad and trace it out.. I clean up and correct anything that needs it and add notes to my liking.. Then print it out on multiple sheets as someone already mentioned.. A laser printer is what I use.. It gives the best detail..

BTW,.. DeltaCad gives you the option to scale it any size you want..


Stan

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Thu 08, 2018 9:37 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Tue 01, 2015 5:31 am
Posts: 1745
Location: Columbus Ohio
Laser is nice, but if your original isn't 1200 dpi it does not matter at all. much higher resolution isn't usually processed above 1200.
The new Canon c750imagePress for example can print 2400x2400 (32 beams- 4 lasers), but the controller only runs at 1200dpi.
We do line drawings for our customers at 200 or 300dpi, it maintains a good file size and has all the quality it needs, and we print truckloads of it.
If you really want bigger drawing and have the cash I'd get the 24" plotter, offers color, prints up to 24"x36" or as small as you want too.
Forget laser, that's for cut sheet and not worth anything extra for drawings.
Do NOT buy a Kipper plotter, if they are throwing it away, there's a reason, they are junk and expensive to run.

Or email your file to my shop, we'll print and mail to you for a few bucks.

_________________
Joe - There's no shortage of cruelty to animals: http://joinASPCA.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 2:51 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 500
Location: Effingham, IL
+1 on Dave's suggestion. Of coarse it may not improve legibility if original is not all that good. But at least it will be large enough to add tube pin numbers and resistor and capacitor values if not on schematic but on parts list. And you don't have to squint.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 2:22 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 5886
Location: Ebridge NY, USA
Also what Dave suggested except that the percentage will change depending on the original files resolution.
The higher the resolution of the scan, the lower the percentage needed. You can play around with it and it will show in the window on the right.

_________________
Steve Johnson
https://stevenjohnson.com - Steve's Antique Technology


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 3:01 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 01, 2011 3:52 am
Posts: 608
Location: Nesbit, Ms.
glue_ru wrote:
Laser is nice, but if your original isn't 1200 dpi it does not matter at all.


Not going to argue over printers.. when you can't read the original, you have to go the extra mile.. What I said was, I print them on a laser AFTER I redraw/clean it up it in a CAD program.. You can't do better than that.. I end up with a very nice, crisp, clear copy.. Most I've done look really good on 8.5"x 11.0".. but I have scaled some and printed them on multiple sheets..
And you can't beat FREE..

_________________
Stay coordinated.. and remember, altitude is your friend..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Sat 10, 2018 12:57 am 
Member

Joined: Jul Tue 03, 2012 10:45 pm
Posts: 34
Tried Dave's suggestion last night. Played a bit with magnification and got great result.
Thanks again all.

Ed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oversize Schematics
PostPosted: Feb Sat 10, 2018 1:35 am 
Member

Joined: Aug Sat 08, 2015 9:50 pm
Posts: 587
Location: Fort Worth, TX 76108
Dave1138 wrote:
If the schematic is a .pdf file, Adobe Acrobat Reader lets you print poster size.
It will print the page over multiple 8.5" x 11.0" sheets. at 190% it will print on 4 sheets. It will print cut lines,
where the sheets overlap. I cut on those lines and tape the sheets together for a larger
schematic.

I learned something new. It worked for me in Adobe Reader 11. Thanks, Dave!


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 15 posts ]  Moderator: Alan Voorhees

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: J. Hill, rsingl, Williameplem and 9 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB