Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Sep Tue 25, 2018 11:42 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Drake TR-4 Issues
PostPosted: Feb Thu 22, 2018 7:19 am 

I recently acquired a TR-4.

I have a few issues with it, but bear in mind I am brand new to Drake gear. So some may be operator error.

The power supply came with the AC-4R kit already installed. I checked the voltage and they all check out within spec per http://www.wb4hfn.com/DRAKE/DrakeArticl ... ooting.pdf

Note that the bias voltage goes from -48V to about -95V with no load. (I replaced the bias pot which only went to 7K when the schematic for the AC-4 indicates a 10K. This let it go to -48V, when it previously would only go to -54V.)

Issue #1
Unable to obtain .1 amp idle current when adjusting the bias control on the power supply.

The most I can get with the bias pot at full stop is about 80-90 mA. Interestingly this was about 65mA until I started playing with tuning. In other words it changed.. (Makes me think relay contacts??)

I verified the current meter using a power supply and a good Fluke DMM to measure the current. I did have to modify the shunt resistance a little to get it accurate. It now reads spot on at 100mA and at 400mA. So I don't think it is a meter issue.

I verified the values of the resistors marked with red in the attached schematic.

Issue #2
Sometimes there is a static crashing type sound even when on a dummy load. This almost sounds like the old Silver Mica Disease on old Zeniths. However, sometimes it goes away. It seems worst right after transmitting.

When the crashing occurs, if I turn down the volume, I can here a very soft corresponding ticking type sound coming from somewhere in the radio. I can't yet determine where that is coming from.