Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Aug Wed 15, 2018 11:20 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 8:56 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Fri 07, 2014 10:20 am
Posts: 2394
I have a tradio model t-u6 radio and need help with electrolytics, Thanks from a0e 1k0 nl Canada.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 8:57 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Fri 07, 2014 10:20 am
Posts: 2394
Here should be a link to schematic , sorry it will not work.


Last edited by spsquires on Feb Fri 09, 2018 9:20 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 8:59 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Fri 07, 2014 10:20 am
Posts: 2394
My question is am I correct to say A-30mfd , B-40mfd , C-20mfd .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 9:03 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Fri 07, 2014 10:20 am
Posts: 2394
Also am I correct to say A has r-15 connected to it and c has r-16 connected to it and both r-15 and r-16 connect to B.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 9:03 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Fri 07, 2014 10:20 am
Posts: 2394
Also am I correct to say A has r-15 connected to it and c has r-16 connected to it and both r-15 and r-16 connect to B.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 9:25 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 36740
Location: Livermore, CA
Hi

Schematic with parts list.

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/pagesbymode ... 021846.pdf

_________________
Norm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 9:30 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 11695
Location: North of Mpls, Minnesota
Here is a working link for the schematic.
http://www.nostalgiaair.org/Resources/846/M0021846.htm

For the electrolytics use 33 mfd for the 30, use 47 mfd for the 40, use 22 mfd for the 20, all of these should be 250 volts

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 9:51 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Fri 07, 2014 10:20 am
Posts: 2394
Thanks for the info and am I right about the resistors and where they attach.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 10:13 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Fri 07, 2014 10:20 am
Posts: 2394
I have the electrolytics done the way I think they go but the radio has a buzzing sound and r-15 and r-16 are getting hot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 11:01 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 11695
Location: North of Mpls, Minnesota
The positive ends of the electrolytics go towards the resistors, the negative ends are all connected together and go to B- /filament/on-off switch.

If the electrolytics were installed backwards throw them away and start over.

Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 11:31 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Fri 07, 2014 10:20 am
Posts: 2394
I shorted out tube 35l6 somewhere along the way and now have radio playing poorly but have to change wax caps now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 11:42 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Feb Sun 01, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 9632
Location: Victoria, Australia
Why do you power a radio with parts like Wax paper caps still in situ? There are several things to be done before applying power.

Powering is never step one. Such actions can render a set economically un-repairable due to the damage and as I am at the repair end I see, and have to repair (can't sometimes) a lot of damage caused by exuberance & an obsession with "powering to see if it works". If it has been sitting for eons it probably won't, as it was put there in the first place, because it didn't.

Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Sat 10, 2018 12:08 am 
Member

Joined: Mar Fri 07, 2014 10:20 am
Posts: 2394
My reason for doing this is I have to take one cap at a time and replace because my knowledge of schematic reading , it is better in my opinion to do them one at a time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tradio radio
PostPosted: Feb Sat 10, 2018 12:56 am 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Feb Sun 01, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 9632
Location: Victoria, Australia
I replace them one at a time & check resistors as I go (after assessing that its worthwhile, & transformers & wiring are sound etc). The only need for power is if the transformer needs attention & its normally isolated to do that. One does not power until they are confident that everything dodgy has been dealt with and won't cause problems when powered. Potentiometers are often the first thing that prove faulty on start up.

The right procedures will see the set fire up 95+% of the time without any major issues & you then align it.

Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 14 posts ]  Moderators: Marcc, Norm Leal

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fifties, Lou deGonzague and 18 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB