Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Dec Fri 19, 2014 9:01 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Question about replacing selenium rectifier
PostPosted: Feb Sat 11, 2012 11:08 pm 

My Zenith Model L721 has a selenium rectifier with a current rating of .074A.

I have been unable to find a rectifier with that rating. Based on an article I found, I'm planning to replace it with a 1.0A Vishay diode #1N4007, rated at 1000 volts. This will be wired in series with a 200 Ohm, 5W resistor.

I'm a rank radio amateur. Any problems with that?

Thanks. Lucky

Post subject: Re: Question about replacing selenium rectifier
PostPosted: Feb Sat 11, 2012 11:28 pm 

Try this article first:

http://www.w3hwj.com/index_files/RBSelenium2.pdf

PostPosted: Feb Sun 12, 2012 2:36 am 

True, you will not find a silicon power diode rated for 74 milliamps. They just don't exist. But a 1N4007 will make a fine substitute.

As for the 200-ohm resistor in series, you may want to re-think that a little. There may already be a series resistor in the radio; they were commonly provided to protect selenium rectifiers from turn-on surge. Adding more resistance may lower the B+ voltage too much and cause the radio to perform poorly. It may be that you don't need another resistor, or its value could be something other than 200 ohms. The easy way to tell is get the radio playing at loud volume and check the B+ voltages. If they match those on the schematic within a few volts, everything is fine. If not, the value of the series resistor can be modified as needed to bring the voltages into line.