Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Dec Sun 16, 2018 1:31 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Spraying technique help required... splotchy finish?
PostPosted: Feb Mon 26, 2018 3:10 am 

I'd appreciate some advice on spraying - I'm getting this odd finish and whatever I try, this is what I seem to get. Is this normal? I'm fairly new to using a spray gun. I'm using a 1.0mm nozzle on a small spray gun and using NC lacquer. Any help would be appreciated.

This was the finish after the first spray - looks ok from a distance
Attachment:
splotchy1.jpg
splotchy1.jpg [ 117.46 KiB | Viewed 897 times ]

And this is the close-up - if I lightly sand and spray a second coat will this start to even out, or is this indicative of a problem with my setup / technique?
Attachment:
splotchy.jpg
splotchy.jpg [ 81.95 KiB | Viewed 897 times ]

Any help appreciated.

Cheers

Steve

Post subject: Re: Spraying technique help required... splotchy finish?
PostPosted: Feb Mon 26, 2018 4:23 am 

Hi Steve,

I'm more of a rattle can guy, but the picture shows a coat that has cured too quickly - didn't flow out.

I'd suspect too high an ambient temperature and/or not a wet enough coat.

I find that spraying in temps higher than 75 deg will cause too fast of a cure.

I'm sure others will weigh in on this.

PS: just checked NZ temps, not too hot, so I think you'll want to put on a wetter coat, subsequent coats should flow it out.

Tim

PostPosted: Feb Mon 26, 2018 5:02 am 

Thanks Tim- so more thinner? I think I was around 25% thinner to lacquer in this coat.

It was definitely a warm day here when I sprayed it - and where I am (near Christchurch) its not too humid.

Cheers

Steve

PostPosted: Feb Wed 28, 2018 3:27 am 

Steve, it looks to me like you need a little more thinner. You may also try a little more air pressure.

Steve

PostPosted: Feb Wed 28, 2018 3:40 am