Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Nov Thu 23, 2017 3:06 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Powerup Box
PostPosted: Nov Mon 13, 2017 2:41 am 
Member

Joined: Nov Thu 24, 2011 2:31 am
Posts: 87
Location: Mendham, NJ
Really nice work. Is there any way you could share the part numbers of your components and the circuity you used?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Powerup Box
PostPosted: Nov Mon 13, 2017 4:35 am 
Member

Joined: Mar Thu 02, 2017 1:37 am
Posts: 157
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Absolutely! I'll post exactly what I ordered, but I'll tell you that I'm considering replacing the 3A meter with a 1A meter. I went with 3A because I know some radios draw close to an amp, plus I thought I might use this box for things other than radios. But I've found that this meter barely registers when the radio is pulling 0.25A so I think a 1A meter would be more useful. The again, it does show me if the current is spiking, which is really it's purpose since I installed the digital meter. Anyway, here are the parts:

All Electronics:
Power Switch: CAT# LRS-40
Ammeter: CAT# PMA-3A
Voltmeter: CAT# PMA-150V
Fuseholder: CAT# FHPM-31

Amazon:
Digital Meter: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00YY ... UTF8&psc=1

The AC input connector I scavenged from a computer power supply. You'll also need a standard AC outlet.

Here's a pdf of the schematic. Sorry it isn't cleaned up...since it was for my own use I didn't bother making it pretty ;)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Q141rw ... sp=sharing

Rich


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Powerup Box
PostPosted: Nov Mon 13, 2017 9:52 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Thu 24, 2011 2:31 am
Posts: 87
Location: Mendham, NJ
Thanks so much. The schematic seems straightforward. What did you do for the connections to the digital meter? On Amazon it looks like I'd need to connect to the meter with a plug.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Powerup Box
PostPosted: Nov Tue 14, 2017 1:57 am 
Member

Joined: Mar Thu 02, 2017 1:37 am
Posts: 157
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
They're just screw terminals. Loosen the screw, insert the wire, tighten the screw. Easy peasy!

Rich
Attachment:
IMG_20171113_185142.jpg
IMG_20171113_185142.jpg [ 242.23 KiB | Viewed 84 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_20171113_185223.jpg
IMG_20171113_185223.jpg [ 188.41 KiB | Viewed 84 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Powerup Box
PostPosted: Nov Tue 14, 2017 11:34 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Thu 24, 2011 2:31 am
Posts: 87
Location: Mendham, NJ
Thanks. My bad. Didn't notice there were screws


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: analog.tv, Don Cavey and 9 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB