Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Feb Wed 20, 2019 2:40 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Main cable for HP 130C oscilloscope
PostPosted: Jun Fri 27, 2003 7:35 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 139
Location: Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
Hi folks,<BR>I recently got four HP 130C oscilloscopes in a Brazilian army surplus auction. The scopes are in fine shape and the price was a bargain ("banana price" like we like to say here) but they came without the main (AC) power cord and without any probes as well.<BR>The problem is: The AC main connector at the back of the scope is something I never saw before (in the scope its a 3 prong male socket, but not like the standard computer 3 prong power cord socket) and I couldnt find such plugs in local electric/electronic stores here. <BR>Here is a photo of the socket: <A HREF="http://www.norman.com.br/MVC-651F.JPG" TARGET=_blank>http://www.norman.com.br/MVC-651F.JPG</A> <BR>Can someone point me where can I obtain such plugs?<BR>Thanks in advance!<P>-------------------------<BR>Norman Schmidt Jr<BR>Porto Alegre/RS/Brazil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Main cable for HP 130C oscilloscope
PostPosted: Jun Fri 27, 2003 5:07 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 5136
Location: Rochester NY USA
These were common before the EIA type became standard. Still in the Belden (now Volex) catalog, as I recall. I would buy one myself if I found one - I think I just have the one on my 130C. It probably wouldn't be too hard to change to an EIA connector, though.<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Main cable for HP 130C oscilloscope
PostPosted: Jun Fri 27, 2003 5:16 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 292
Location: Portland, OR USA
Try to find a junk IBM selectric Typewriter. It's the same power cord.<BR>Or <BR>replace the recepticle with a IEC connector<BR>or<BR>hardwire the hummer..<P>------------------<BR>Walters


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Main cable for HP 130C oscilloscope
PostPosted: Jun Sat 28, 2003 2:35 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 139
Location: Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
<BLOCKQUOTE><font>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bob Walters:<BR><B>or<BR>hardwire the hummer..<P></B><HR></BLOCKQUOTE><P>The hummer... That's very good... <IMG SRC="http://antiqueradios.com/forums/smile.gif">))))<P>Two of them are already hardwired, I'm using them as a stereo output meter in my living room tube amp. My wife l-o-v-e-d the thing. She started to tag our possessions with "mine" and "his" labels.<P>-------------------------<BR>Norman Schmidt Jr<BR>Porto Alegre/RS/Brazil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Main cable for HP 130C oscilloscope
PostPosted: Jul Tue 01, 2003 12:54 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3550
Location: Harviell MO USA 63945 (12 miles S of Poplar Bluff)
Mmmmmmm ..... does the Selectric cord actually have three wires and a ground prong on the plug? A lot of those "almost" cables don't.<P>Dean<BR><P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], Hotpeppers and 11 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB