Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Sun 17, 2017 12:48 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 77 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Tue 26, 2011 2:14 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 807
Location: Henderson, NV
I have only two. Both Cardmatic 118B's w/ full card complement :D
xeric


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Tue 26, 2011 2:43 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2342
Location: Bloomington, MN, 55425
The Hickok 600A will finally have company today, if UPS brings the TC 142 Mighty Mite as scheduled.


-Phil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Tue 26, 2011 4:14 pm 
Member

Joined: Sep Thu 23, 2010 6:37 am
Posts: 9427
Location: Powell River BC Canada
pred wrote:
Well having 8 should be no issue.
I have one that has something like 40 sockets for quick check, It really does go fast and Eileen will use it to run through a box of tubes, Otherwise she gets bored with the other testers. But it is limited to mostly octals and mini tubes.
Still I think at least one has to go, Maybe two if I can bear it.
Peter


The one thing about the testers with the many sockers, (I have a
B&k 747) and any well used shop or truck unit, is that often
the most used socket is worn out, or has been replaced with
something that doesnt look OEM.

As to the number of tester, as many as possible, if you can
find a use for them all apart from just hoarding them.

They are good trading cards.

_________________
de
VE7ASO VE7ZSO
Amateur Radio Literacy Club. May we help you read better.
Steve Dow
ve7aso@rac.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Tue 26, 2011 4:26 pm 
New Member

Joined: Apr Sun 24, 2011 11:47 am
Posts: 4
Location: Moscow, Russia
Fred Scoles wrote:
Based on what happened after church service a few years ago, I think I must have enough tube testers. After the Sunday service, our preacher shook my hand and to make friendly chat, he asked me "How's the tube tester and radio tube hobby going?"...I thought for a moment, but my wife quickly declared "It's slightly better than a cocaine habit !"....after that I couldn't say anything.


:roll: My wife sometimes says(not TOO frequently! But...:wink: ) about my old radios and tube audio homebrewed devices: What a damn hobby, It would be better if you even would have drink instead! :lol:
(....But honestly, some of great old radios, like Blaupunkt 8w79 (for example), their appearance she liked at once just she saw them for first time, same as she liked the sound of my favorite (or, may be, even "reference" ) half-retro amp with RCA 2A3's, that initially was made by my grand-dad approx. 60 years ago, and modifying by me later (I added the same other channel with 2x2a3/6n7/5U4 for stereo, but just only 20 years ago)
Sorry for little off, please!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Wed 27, 2011 6:43 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3392
Location: Olympia WA USA
I have so many tubes testers right now I have lost track of all of them.
Lets see: TV10, TV7DU, Seco 107C (2), Triplett, 6-8 B&K's, 4-6 Precision, 2-3 jacksons, 1 RCA cardmatic type,; my "baby" Mint Heathkit TT1, several Knight (Need a meter for the 600) and 3-4 Eico's, Beltron- for CRT's, Sencore, a Jewell, 4-6 Hickock's and who knows what else.

Also one awesome Home Brew I bought at a hamfair. Its a beauty and will test almost all receiving & low power transmitting tube.
You have to set all the operating parameters with a tube manual, and then read all of the 5 or 6 meters on it for test data.
The chap who designed and built it did a fantastic job of wiring and making the case. It weighs about 50 lbs too. Full of transformers for all the fil, plate and bias voltages.

_________________
FrankB
WB7ELC
Member: TCA & Steel Soldiers.
" Break down the wall"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Fri 29, 2011 2:12 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3550
Location: Harviell MO USA 63945 (12 miles S of Poplar Bluff)
A man who owns a clock always knows the exact time.

A man who owns two clocks is never sure of the time.

_________________
Dean, Electronics Curmudgeon
Contributing editor emeritus in Poptronics magazine, R.I.P.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Fri 29, 2011 2:25 am 
Member

Joined: Apr Fri 23, 2010 4:02 am
Posts: 1444
A man who has one clock thinks he has the right time.

A man with two clocks knows he has the wrong time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Fri 29, 2011 2:35 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2342
Location: Bloomington, MN, 55425
A man with no clocks is either retired and single, or says "Yes, Dear" frequently.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Fri 29, 2011 12:45 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 6552
Location: Raleigh NC USA
A man with any clocks better set 'em by WWV :wink:.

As for tube testers, a 1954 Weston 981 Type 3 tubechecker handles at least 75% of my tube testing requirements:

Image

I have a supplement chart for it that makes it current through 1956 types.

It won't handle a number of the older types (24A, 45 etc), but I supplement it with a Precision 612 that will handle most of the older types. For post-1956 tubes (including novars and compactrons), I use a B&K 707 Dynajet.

For "quick-and-dirty" or "triage" testing on an incoming batch of vintage used tubes, I have a Sico TW-11 emissions tester that is quick to set up and use.

All four of these were hamfest finds, two at RARSfest and two at Shelby, during the 80's and 90's.

:wink:

Larry

_________________
It don't make a go if it ain't got that GLOW!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Fri 29, 2011 7:56 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1381
Location: Milford, PA
Larry,
I just looked at the manual, and yes, it the 981-3 does test 24a's and 45's. The only drawback for me is the universal socket for 4,5,6 and 7 pins. If it wears out you're screwed.
regards,

_________________
_____________________

Bruce


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr Sat 30, 2011 8:05 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1021
Location: Yardley, Pennsylvania
For a quick test I use an Eico 667. For a more detailed test I use a Heathkit TT1-A. I haven't come across a tube I couldn't test between the two. I have a Precision 10-12 and an adapter for early tubes for the 667 but haven't used either in years since getting the TT1-A. I don't test early tubes often so not much of a bother to use the Heathkit. I never looked into how Eico did it but it tests VR tubes better than the Heathkit. I like test equipment but I don't see the need for myself to ever need any other tube testers. As you hear repeatedly mostly just looking for shorts and emissions Sometimes it can be a hair pulling but some times even if the tube checks good it just doesn't work in circuit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Sun 01, 2011 7:10 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Thu 28, 2006 12:51 pm
Posts: 9024
Location: Sarasota, Florida
For snob appeal you gotta have a Hickok.

I've had two, a Precision 612 and a B&K 747B. The B&K is a very good tester, the biggest problem being it doesn't handle the older tubes. The Precision does, but is not a mutual conductance tester. But -- is this really needed on older types? Emissions testers certainly do a satisfactory job for most applications, especially AM radios. I've gotten along well with these two.

Then along came a Hickok -- a real, genuine Hickok. Just like Steve Martin when he saw his name in the phone book, "I'm SOMEBODY Now! Whoopee -- a nice clean Hickok 600A. It works, it measures micromhos, it's got the older tube sockets, and best of all it's a real HICKOK! Now I go around and tell all my friends with my nose in the air . . .

Fact remains, the Hickok IS a nice tester. It still doesn't test Compactrons, but when was the last time I tried to test a Compactron? I suppose if it ever happens, I've got the B&K to fall back on. The Precision? I use it for display; aside from that I no longer need it.

For anyone getting into the hobby, a good emissions tester can be had for little money. Heathkit had a good one, as did Eico. Knight, Philco, a number of others that test emissions will do just fine.

If you're getting serious, go for a mutual conductance tester -- or two. Hickok is good, but certainly not the only player on the field. I suggest two for two reasons -- first, I don't think you're going to find any model that handles both the old types and the newer Compactrons. Second, both can test the vast majority of them, and if you should encounter one that appears flaky for some reason (or if you have ten of the same type and they all test weak), you can always compare it with the findings of the other one and make your decision based on that.

As for 30, 100, or whatever, I guess you're a collector. But just like you don't need 35 radios to hear the news, you don't need 200 testers to determine which tubes are bad.

_________________
Gary Tayman, Sarasota, Florida


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Jun Wed 22, 2011 10:55 pm 
Member

Joined: Sep Sun 05, 2010 4:13 am
Posts: 46
Location: South Jersey
ghrmn wrote:
I have a Hickok 799, Jackson 648-1, Jackson 648-A, Jackson 648, and a Hickok 560. Most of my work is on the 799. For older work, I'll pull a Jackson out. The 560 still has to be restored. Needs a control panel.


Today 6/22, I added a Jackson 658a from paybay. Paid $49.99. I like how they designed
these testers. They seem to use a higher plate voltage. An article online claims it is a modified mutual conductance tester. Made after the Hickok patents expired. I also now have a Simpson Roto-Ranger 220.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How many tube testers does one need?
PostPosted: Aug Wed 23, 2017 12:09 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Wed 04, 2013 2:23 pm
Posts: 561
Location: Atlanta, GA
Go ahead and shoot me! :lol: I thought this was in interesting thread and wanted to "revive" it!

_________________
Real Radios GLOW In The Dark
Southeastern Antique Radio Society SARS 1991
www.sarsradio.com
K4DLM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How many tube testers does one need?
PostPosted: Aug Wed 23, 2017 2:26 am 
Member

Joined: Sep Thu 23, 2010 6:37 am
Posts: 9427
Location: Powell River BC Canada
I have about nine tube testers that I can find easily, and maybe the same number buried
upstairs.

With that many testers, I can obsess over whether a tube is really good, long
enough to forget about fixing the radio it came from.

_________________
de
VE7ASO VE7ZSO
Amateur Radio Literacy Club. May we help you read better.
Steve Dow
ve7aso@rac.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How many tube testers does one need?
PostPosted: Aug Wed 23, 2017 5:43 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Mon 17, 2008 5:05 am
Posts: 5024
Location: Ashhurst, New Zealand
If you only had one, it could be working properly or it may not, you wouldn't know.

So you buy another one, so now one is right and one is wrong, but which one?

So you have to have another one to confirm which is right and which is wrong, but what if it doesn't agree with either of them..... :wink:

_________________
Cheers - Martin ZL2MC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How many tube testers does one need?
PostPosted: Aug Wed 23, 2017 6:20 am 
Member

Joined: Sep Thu 23, 2010 6:37 am
Posts: 9427
Location: Powell River BC Canada
I'd be just happy with using the Jackson 648, on the bench, and on the road,
that the shop I worked at had close to 60 years ago.

Imagine fixing radios and TVs without the internet. :shock:

_________________
de
VE7ASO VE7ZSO
Amateur Radio Literacy Club. May we help you read better.
Steve Dow
ve7aso@rac.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How many tube testers does one need?
PostPosted: Aug Wed 23, 2017 10:24 am 
Member

Joined: Oct Sun 15, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 5320
I have to wonder how many times I'll answer the same question.

_________________
Bold text & pics are usually links.

Mike


Last edited by Mikeinkcmo on Aug Wed 23, 2017 9:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How many tube testers does one need?
PostPosted: Aug Wed 23, 2017 11:36 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Mon 26, 2010 8:30 pm
Posts: 20683
Location: Annapolis, MD
The key word in the thread title is "need".

My answer from 6 years ago still stands: Zero.

Having said that, I am suffering until I get my Precision 10-12 working. I use it only for "pre-screening", but that has become ingrained in my routine.

_________________
-Mark http://pixellany.com

"It's always something". --Gilda Radner (1946 - 1989)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How many tube testers does one need?
PostPosted: Aug Wed 23, 2017 12:54 pm 
Member

Joined: Jun Sat 09, 2007 8:14 am
Posts: 3016
Location: Florida
I also have a "Preceptor". All those lights and switches made it too hard to pass up.

My others include an NRI 69, Conar 212, B&K 707 (2), EICO 625 and an EICO 628. The 625 and 628 have been modified: the 625 for grid leakage or emission, the 628 for gm and grid current.

RRM


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 77 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB