Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Sun 26, 2014 6:10 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Closest value to this cap for an Eico signal generator?
PostPosted: Mar Sat 10, 2012 2:02 am 

I'm re-capping an Eico Signal generator and it has one hard to find .5 Mfd capacitor. it appears to be electrrolytic because the positive side is marked but it looks like a regular wax paper cap... I'm trying to find the closest I can get to it because I can't find .5 Mfd anywhere. I'm not too good at math.. is .68 the best choice?

Post subject: Re: Closest value to this cap for an Eico signal generator?
PostPosted: Mar Sat 10, 2012 2:36 am 

The modern replacement for an 0.5 would be 0.47 or 0.56. The stripe on the end of the old paper caps indicates the outside foil. They are not polarized. Some circuits wanted the outside foil grounded to reduce hum.

RRM

PostPosted: Mar Sat 10, 2012 2:38 am 

You can use a .47 MFD. Telling us the model number of the signal generator would also be helpful.

Pete

PostPosted: Mar Sat 10, 2012 2:53 am 

Even if it was an electrolytic cap, a modern polyester or poly .47uF cap would be a far better
replacement. They will last much longer. Less ESR, less leakage, and they don't age.

Peter

PostPosted: Mar Sat 10, 2012 3:36 am 

oookay, I was always told if you have to use a different capacitance, always go higher not lower. is it different for test equipment? I have an Eico model 320.

PostPosted: Mar Sat 10, 2012 3:53 am 

Daniel Schwank wrote:
oookay, I was always told if you have to use a different capacitance, always go higher not lower. is it different for test equipment? I have an Eico model 320.

It is the application of the device that matters. Depending on the tolerance of the circuit for a change in engineered value.