Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Apr Mon 23, 2018 8:52 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: fluke 1911a freq counter
PostPosted: Jun Fri 29, 2012 5:29 pm 

Hi everyone,
I picked up a Fluke 1911a freq. counter for $35.00. Since i'm new to this hobby. I need a-little guidance for checking this counter to see if it is working correctly. I have a manual on the way. But if this thing isn't working right I want to cut my loses and move on to another counter . I'm sure these things aren't cheap to fix or calibrate .

Thanks for any help you can give me
Wayne

Post subject: Re: fluke 1911a freq counter
PostPosted: Jun Fri 29, 2012 6:17 pm 

If you have the version with built-in NICAD battery pack (called Option-01), you have a problem. Ifso, get rid of it.

--Chuck

PostPosted: Jun Fri 29, 2012 6:37 pm 

Chuck,
This unit is 115 volt unit . No option 01 No internal batteries .

Thanks for the quick come back

Wayne

PostPosted: Jun Fri 29, 2012 7:39 pm 

That's a decent looking counter. What's the problem?

Fluke probably has the manual available on their web site if you need it.

PostPosted: Jun Fri 29, 2012 8:49 pm 

The 1911A is a decent counter. It has two input channels, a high impedance "A" input that is good to 125 MHz, and a 50-ohm "B" input. The "B" input is pre-scaled, so it is good from 50 MHz to 250 MHz. It should do just about anything you could possibly want from a counter in antique radio, unless you plan on fixing old television or UHF gear.

With respect to checking it out, the two things you have to look at are, (A) do the inputs still work, or have they been blown by overloading; and (B) how accurate is the time base?