Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Jan Tue 23, 2018 4:43 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Need Schematic for Precision E-200-C
PostPosted: Nov Fri 21, 2003 8:32 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 46
Location: Kansas City, MO 64151
I'm restoring an early model of the above-mentioned sig gen. I have a manual, but the schematic does not match the unit. Anyone know where I can find the schematic for a unit with 80-6C5-6SJ6 tube lineup?<P>------------------<BR>Harley L. Miller


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Need Schematic for Precision E-200-C
PostPosted: Nov Fri 21, 2003 5:58 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1021
Location: Yardley, Pennsylvania
Hi Hartley, <A HREF="http://www.manualman.com" TARGET=_blank>www.manualman.com</A> claims to have a manual with all four schematics. <A HREF="http://www.eham.net/forums/BoatAnchors/1208" TARGET=_blank>http://www.eham.net/forums/BoatAnchors/1208</A> <P>Paul<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Need Schematic for Precision E-200-C
PostPosted: Nov Fri 21, 2003 7:37 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3162
Location: Cockatoo, Victoria, Australia
Hi Harley, I've emailed the schematics for a Precision E200 & E200C signal generator; there are 3 versions. They all use a 6C5, 6SJ7 and 80 tubes. I don't know of a 6SJ6 tube, though it may be used in your set. Perhaps you've made a typo and it should be a 6SJ7? Anyway, I hope it helps.<BR>Don Black.<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Need Schematic for Precision E-200-C
PostPosted: Nov Sat 22, 2003 8:37 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 46
Location: Kansas City, MO 64151
Thanks, Don, for the schematics. Yes, It's a typo, the tube is a 6SA7. <P>------------------<BR>Harley L. Miller


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Need Schematic for Precision E-200-C
PostPosted: Nov Sat 22, 2003 8:38 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 46
Location: Kansas City, MO 64151
Well, try again: The tube is a 6SJ7<P>------------------<BR>Harley L. Miller


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Need Schematic for Precision E-200-C
PostPosted: Nov Sat 22, 2003 6:54 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3162
Location: Cockatoo, Victoria, Australia
Hi Harley, I got a message saying the schematic I sent was undeliverable. Have you actually received it OK? If not, send me an email and I'll attach the schematics and return them, hopefully they'll get through then. They aren't very large files, are there any file size restrictions on youe email account? I can send the two pages individually if necessary.<BR>Don Black.<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Need Schematic for Precision E-200-C
PostPosted: Nov Mon 24, 2003 6:47 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1553
Location: SOUTHLAKE, TX, USA
Hi Harley:<P>My Email to you was returned as undeliverable. Have hard copy of the schematic you need. Contact me directly. BOB<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Need Schematic for Precision E-200-C
PostPosted: Nov Tue 25, 2003 5:19 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 46
Location: Kansas City, MO 64151
Many thanks to all who have offered help on this. Don Black has sent me the schematics that I need.<BR><P>------------------<BR>Harley L. Miller


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Dec Mon 25, 2006 5:59 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Zip : 80751
OK i know this is a realy old post, but i'm having the same problem, i can't find the schematic for the octal tube lineup. I now find out there are at least 4 diferent versions of this sig. gen. Does anyone have a schematic for this???


Thanks,
Jeremy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan Tue 02, 2007 8:49 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1892
Location: Austin Texas USA
Jeremy, (et al)...

I have two E-200-C generators and they are slightly different from each other...There may very well be more than 3 versions of the E-200-C.

Adding to the confusion among schematics and applicable model numbers is actual unit ID without paying attention to s/n's...It seems schemas described as for model E-200 Second Series beginning with s/n 1301 may also be applicable to models identified as E-200-C...The info below applies to at least some units produced thru 1954 or 1955.

If it may be of benefit I can scan schemas for the following generators: (1) s/n 301 thru s/n 1300 (schema drawing dated 5/8/40)...(2) s/n 1301 to s/n 17,800 (schema drawing dated 5/27/40)...(3) s/n 17,801 to s/n 45,800 <and/or> s/n 45,801 to s/n 58,855 (schema drawing 9/15/49)...Each drawing has a parts list ID chart with values indicated for resistors and capacitors.

The three schema drawings above are for units each having the tube line-up 6SJ7, 6C5 and 80, although the last schema mentioned above shows the rectifier as either an 80 or its octal version, a 5Y3...Also on the last schema is a note that RFC-2 and C-8 AC-line filter components do not appear on units with s/n's below 34,801.

There may other schemas as well...The ones I have mentioned are in my Operating Instructions manual dated 1955 and pertaining to models with s/n's 1301 to 45,800 (or so it would appear) as indicated on the front cover...One has to think others applicable to models of later production are "out there" as well.

FWIW

Bruce
WC5CW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Sun 09, 2010 5:42 am 
Member

Joined: Feb Sat 06, 2010 4:02 am
Posts: 29
Location: Philadelphia Area
I'm resurrecting this thread in hopes that someone can help me out with a troublesome Precision E-200-C.

Does anyone have an E-200-C manual for a unit that has seven bands (A through G/G2/G4) 90 KC - 240 MC ?

Bruce references three versions of E-200-C schematics above, with the latest being 9/15/1949. There is a fourth schematic on Nostalgia Air dated 12-7-1957.

I have SN 55577. It has the front panel layout like that of the earlier units, but an internal layout like that of later units.

Apparently there were at least FIVE versions of the E-200-C between 1940 and 1957.

My E-200-C has seven bands (A - G). 1949 had six bands and 1957 had eight.

Mine uses a 6AU6 for RF a 6U8 for the audio, like that of the 1957 version.

If anyone has a manual/schematic for a seven band, 240MC, E-200-C I could sure use it.

I have audio and modulation working fine, but I can't get anything out of the RF section on any bands. You would think that would make it easy to shoot, but the "unit oscillators' on these things are packed pretty tightly and it is hard to follow signal flow(s).

Resistors check out ok, coil resistances look right, and I have good continuity through the band-selector switch stack. I have replaced the two paper caps, the electrolytes, and swapped out tubes for known good ones.

As a last-shot I am going to try to change out a molded cap and a dipped cap that are buried in the 'unit oscillator'. I thought they were associated with particular bands, but perhaps not. If that doesn't do it I think I am stuck.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

- Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct Sat 30, 2010 1:41 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Sat 11, 2009 4:15 am
Posts: 1204
Location: Portland OR, grid square CN-85
Nick --

I'm not familiar at all with the 200-C signal generator, but take a look here, I think these manuals might be what you're trying to find. --

http://bama.edebris.com/manuals/paco/e200c/

Good luck !!!

Tom

_________________
"PRO PATRIA VIGILANS"
(Watchful for the Country)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct Sat 30, 2010 2:25 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2973
Location: Seattle WA US
There are further E200 schematics in the adjacent directory at BAMA:

http://bama.edebris.com/manuals/paco/e200/

--Chuck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar Sat 12, 2011 9:18 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Tue 04, 2010 9:50 pm
Posts: 284
Location: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
I have one of these also, and the power side capacitor is leaking all over the place. I put up pictures on Flickr:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/60501652@N05/5520112197/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/60501652@N05/5520112189/

The cap is a "Solar" brand, 16-115. I want to replace it first, I spose. Most of the other smaller caps look leaky and I can replace them, too.

More pictures following. Thanks to everyone who posted this info, I'll follow with more pictures as I proceed.

_________________
- Every time I think I know something, my radio hobby shows me otherwise.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar Sat 12, 2011 10:20 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Sat 11, 2009 4:15 am
Posts: 1204
Location: Portland OR, grid square CN-85
Hi there --

Whoa !!! That cap looks like a goner !!

I've no idea what it would test as, but given its age, I'd replace it, even if you had a mint one I'd be worried about it !!

With the new molded caps available, and aside from the electrolytics, I don't think you'll have to worry much about repairs for that sig gen !!

Good luck !

Tom

_________________
"PRO PATRIA VIGILANS"
(Watchful for the Country)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar Sun 13, 2011 1:59 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Tue 04, 2010 9:50 pm
Posts: 284
Location: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
A few more pics starting out:

The front
http://www.flickr.com/photos/60501652@N05/5520112185/

The inside:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/60501652@N05/5520112207/

The oscillator assembly (referred to in the manual as the "unit-oscillator"):
http://www.flickr.com/photos/60501652@N05/5520112199/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/60501652@N05/5520112195/

The underneath side:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/60501652@N05/5521379640/

_________________
- Every time I think I know something, my radio hobby shows me otherwise.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar Sun 13, 2011 2:01 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Tue 04, 2010 9:50 pm
Posts: 284
Location: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
I've pulled, er, chopped out the big leaky capacitor can. According to the schematic, this is actually three networked capacitors. I'm going to melt the wax out and pull the innards and see if I can re-stuff the paper tube with riveted mounting bracket.

_________________
- Every time I think I know something, my radio hobby shows me otherwise.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar Sun 13, 2011 2:51 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Sat 11, 2009 4:15 am
Posts: 1204
Location: Portland OR, grid square CN-85
Hi there --

Cool !!! Sounds like progress is being made !! From here, that unit looks good !!! A bit cleaner than the 200's I've run into. . .

That big cap should lend itself to restuffing of the shell rather easily I'd think.

I've found that melting the wax with a heat gun works well, as long as you don't get it too hot to burn, you're good !

Just out of curiosity, I'd take a good look at that wiring. It might be just me, or the picture, but I'd be kinda cautious about the integrity of that old wire. Could just be the way it's portrayed in the picture. . .

Looking good !!!

Tom

_________________
"PRO PATRIA VIGILANS"
(Watchful for the Country)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar Sun 13, 2011 1:06 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: May Tue 04, 2010 9:50 pm
Posts: 284
Location: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Thanks, Tom.

The wiring seems to be moldy is all. I've been scrubbing it with a toothbrush as I go along.

The capacitor I heated slowly in a 200 degree oven for about 45 minutes. When the filling began to flow out into the aluminum cake pane, I pushed it on out with a dowel. Then I re-heated the tube for a few more minutes and reamed it with a twisted rope of newsprint. The stuff inside there stank like it had some kind of petroleum base.

The schematic shows a network of two 400V 10μF caps and a 25μF cap. I have 450V 10s in stock, so I'm replacing the 25μF with three of those in parallel.

Re-capped the power side, too. Several 0.01 and a 0.1μF cap.

One of the RF chokes was corroded so I replaced that, too. Washed the whole cabinet, repainted the clamps that hold the handle on, and heavily worked over the leather handle with black shoe polish.

_________________
- Every time I think I know something, my radio hobby shows me otherwise.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar Sun 13, 2011 3:58 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 13045
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
I think it is great that you are taking the time to bring this equipment back into use. Even if you use it occasionally, it will be a pleasure to know what you have accomplished and it would be neat working on old radios with it.

We will be looking for more pictures!

Thanks,

_________________
Don


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Koby, racfan9 and 10 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  






















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB