Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Dec Tue 12, 2017 7:09 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Eico 950 Capacitor Bridge
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 6:36 pm 

Hi: Let me first say that I am a beginner in repairing/using tube electronics (or electronics at all), so please bear with me. I purchased an Eico 950 some years ago with the intention of repairing it. Finding myself between projects, I decided to repair some of my stockpiled test gear and try to work on a couple of AA5's I've collected over time.
The first thing I noticed when disassembling the 950 was that the 1629 tube was burned out, showing some molten metal droplets on the side. I ordered another 1629, and all the capacitors for the 950. I replaced all of caps, and one resistor that tested high. I did not replace any others. When I brought it up on a Variac, everything seemed to work well. I had ordered a precision capacitor to use as a calibration guide, and the 950 seems to measure that very close, almost exactly.
My thought was that perhaps the 1629 was burned out due to a faulty cap. However, after playing with the 950 for a while (checking the old caps with it) I heard a fainting buzzing or rattle. Just a couple of seconds, but noticed the eye tube seemed to flicker slightly during this buzz.
Concerned that I was about to cook another 1629, I shut it down.
Would anyone have a suggestion about where I should look to find this problem?
As stated, it is labeled a 950, but the pot that is shown as a 1 megohm is labeled 100,000 ohm. From what I have read on here, that makes it a 950B maybe?
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Post subject: Re: Eico 950 Capacitor Bridge
PostPosted: Nov Wed 22, 2017 11:34 pm