Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Aug Mon 20, 2018 1:59 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: EICO 320 Signal Generator Need Help
PostPosted: Jan Fri 26, 2018 2:10 am 

I picked up an EICO 320 Signal Generator at an antique shop for what seems like an amazing $8. I am 19 and have no electrical experience. I am not even quite sure what it's purpose is, but I like it a lot, and want to fix it up rather than sell it if I can find a use for it.

When I plugged it in, it blew the circuit breaker. (I didn't use an isolated outlet.) The unit itself is in fairly good shape. The capacitors look like old ruptured batteries but again, I have no experience with these things. I will attach images, I think the main dial for the signal frequency is out of alignment, and after turning a bit a part has come off. It doesn't turn easily and the knob won't turn it at all, you have to push on the plastic arrow.

If anyone can help out in any way, perhaps even with a link to the manual, it would be greatly appreciated. And I am a new user, so if this is in the wrong forum please move it, apologies.

Attachment:
IMAG0341 (3).jpg
IMAG0341 (3).jpg [ 155.88 KiB | Viewed 1002 times ]

Attachment:
IMAG0340 (3).jpg
IMAG0340 (3).jpg [ 146.72 KiB | Viewed 1002 times ]

Attachment:
IMAG0342 (3).jpg
IMAG0342 (3).jpg [ 156.11 KiB | Viewed 1002 times ]

Attachment:
IMAG0343 (3).jpg
IMAG0343 (3).jpg [ 141.2 KiB | Viewed 1002 times ]

Also of note, at the same store I saw two tube testers. They looked in rough shape, the only part left was the front plate with all the switches and wires. One was $7 and one was $10. Are they worth picking up, possibly to resell?

Post subject: Re: EICO 320 Signal Generator Need Help
PostPosted: Jan Fri 26, 2018 1:27 pm