Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Aug Wed 22, 2018 4:20 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Need Eico 666 chart for 610A adapter & advice for new tester
PostPosted: Feb Thu 01, 2018 8:48 pm 

OK, so I am not a radio guy ... I am actually a machinist by trade ... but I do dabble in electonics and have several old tube radios I keep going.

I also have about 500 tubes .... just boxes of them, some new, some old, some marked dead or weak.

Anyway, about 20 years ago, I got an old Eico tube tester. Till now it has worked great. Needed servicing once. A buddy how knew way more than I found the problem (don't remember what it was) but said it was simple and fixed it.

I do need to figure out how to calibrate it at some point ... probably has never been done.

I know there is a 610A adapter for it ..... and I think I may have found one at a local shop (I only paid $20 for the tester .... he is asking $50 for the adapter).

Problem ... no paperwork of any type with it.

I did a search on the web ... got the wiring and parts manual but that was all I could find.

It mentioned a supplemental tube chart. With out this chart (not knowing the switch settings) the unit will be useless.

Can anyone tell me what this chart looks like and/or where to find one? Just a PDF copy off the web would be great (I assume it is just a chart .... or maybe it is a complete roll to replace the original or ???).

Also, I have been watching e-bay for a while ... lots of tube testers .... $20 to $1000.

I would not mind a second one as a "spare" but I don't want to spend a lot of money.

Is there any models I should look for ... or any I should avoid ... in say the $50 to $100 range?

Thanks ..... Mike

Post subject: Re: Need Eico 666 chart for 610A adapter & advice for new te
PostPosted: Feb Fri 02, 2018 10:17 pm 

Well I took a chance and bought the 610A .... $40