Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Oct Sun 21, 2018 2:48 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Is this Heathkit isolation transformer OK?
PostPosted: Feb Thu 08, 2018 8:39 pm 
Member

Joined: Feb Mon 13, 2017 10:46 pm
Posts: 158
Location: Atlanta GA
As I get into this hobby more and more I think it is time for one of these isolation transformers. What is your opinion on one of this Heathkit IT-1 model? I can pick up this model for about $40. If this one is a bad choice can you please tell me what to look for when choosing one.

Attachment:
heathkit.jpg
heathkit.jpg [ 21.93 KiB | Viewed 533 times ]



Any advice is appreciated,
BB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this Heathkit isolation transformer OK?
PostPosted: Feb Thu 08, 2018 8:44 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 36959
Location: Livermore, CA
BB

Looks ok. Here is information on IT1:

http://www.w6ze.org/Heathkit/Heathkit_018_IT1.pdf

_________________
Norm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this Heathkit isolation transformer OK?
PostPosted: Feb Thu 08, 2018 8:53 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 07, 2016 11:39 pm
Posts: 93
Location: Poulsbo, WA
The IT-1 is only rated for 100 Watts.
That wound be good enough for working with AA5 type ratios.
If you plan to work on larger projects you might consider something in the 500 Watt or greater range.

_________________
Respectfully Submitted,
Be_Zero_Be
---------------------------------
You never used to be older.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this Heathkit isolation transformer OK?
PostPosted: Feb Thu 08, 2018 11:25 pm 
Member

Joined: May Sun 06, 2007 2:52 am
Posts: 2591
Location: 03223
I have the same isolation transformer.It handled powering my GE 10-tube console no problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this Heathkit isolation transformer OK?
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 4:03 am 
Member

Joined: May Fri 01, 2015 2:33 am
Posts: 1199
Location: Roslyn,Pa 19001
I've used mine for many years with out a glitch. Will mention two things the socket on the front won't except a modern polarized plug and is only adjustable down to abt 80v.
As for just using it on AA5 sets most of those are abt 30w. The older ones w/300ma tubes run a bit higher abt 50w. Have used it on my Philco 116X (abt 160w). The output did sag a little but worked ok.

GL
Terry N3GTE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this Heathkit isolation transformer OK?
PostPosted: Feb Fri 09, 2018 2:24 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Wed 08, 2011 2:33 am
Posts: 7241
Location: Ohio 45177
I got two of those at hamfests. The first one works great, but the second one turned out to be fried. With an oversized fuse in it. Go figure. I thought of just putting a new isolation transformer in it for a fixed output with fuse protection. As the variable trans is sort of a custom part and there is not room for a variac and a trans. 40 seems high to me but they work fine over their limited adjustment range. Most of the radios I work on are within it's range of output power. But make sure the fuse is correct! I think I pay 10-15$ for mine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Koby and 10 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB