Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Sun 16, 2018 1:37 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Tue 06, 2018 1:16 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Tue 01, 2015 5:31 am
Posts: 1854
Location: Columbus Ohio
Picked this up pretty cheap not realizing it was a high voltage colonics device or some similar quack contraption.
What can be done with this? Is it viable as useful high power supply, its regulated, current 50ma max, DC volts 0-150 and 0-500.
Maybe just a reference device? has weird plugs I'd change over to I don't know, posts, 4mm jacks?
Any ideas?


Attachments:
beckman rd1.jpg
beckman rd1.jpg [ 74.46 KiB | Viewed 884 times ]
Beckman RD2.jpg
Beckman RD2.jpg [ 39.82 KiB | Viewed 884 times ]

_________________
Joe - There's no shortage of cruelty to animals: http://joinASPCA.org
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Tue 06, 2018 1:19 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 33575
Location: Maryland 20709, USA
Beckman generally made good-quality equipment for use in laboratories.

I would not hesitate to use it, subject of course to evaluating the electrolytic caps.

- Leigh

_________________
73 de W3NLB
http://www.AtwaterKent.info
Click "Grebe Stuff" for Synchrophase info


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Tue 06, 2018 1:22 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Tue 01, 2015 5:31 am
Posts: 1854
Location: Columbus Ohio
I'll evaluate them as they hit the trash can :) That's half the fun of it.
Wondering what the red and black buttons do, I was thinking of that being a good spot for 4mm jacks. Though I hate reaching between leads to adjust the voltage

_________________
Joe - There's no shortage of cruelty to animals: http://joinASPCA.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Tue 06, 2018 2:19 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 33575
Location: Maryland 20709, USA
glue_ru wrote:
Wondering what the red and black buttons do.

I suspect they're for setting the constant voltage and constant current.

Best to locate a service manual, and not change any part of the unit.

- Leigh

_________________
73 de W3NLB
http://www.AtwaterKent.info
Click "Grebe Stuff" for Synchrophase info


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Tue 06, 2018 2:33 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Tue 01, 2015 5:31 am
Posts: 1854
Location: Columbus Ohio
probably good advice, haven't much in manuals for it, couple references to its medical connection.

_________________
Joe - There's no shortage of cruelty to animals: http://joinASPCA.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Wed 07, 2018 6:34 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Sat 01, 2011 9:10 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Temple, GA
I work for Beckman. This was a power supply for performing protein electrphoresis.

https://digital.sciencehistory.org/works/mp48sc97v

It was current in the mid 60’s.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Wed 07, 2018 6:57 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3133
Location: Seattle WA US
I don't see an on-off switch on the front panel. That is the first function I would suspect for the red and black pushbutton switches.

I have an older Beckman Duostat electrophoresis power supply. I have had no luck finding a schematic or manual.

-Chuck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Thu 08, 2018 1:04 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2011
Location: Oswego, NY, USA
We (Suny Oswego, Chem Dept) used this type Beckman electrophoresis system from 1966 thru ~1982; the power supply (identical to the above photo) still exists (in my collection) with its Triplett 420 panel meter. A number of colleges had these systems. Unfortunately, its manuals were lost, so I can't help with any diagrams. The Beckman "Zero-Matic" pH meters of the same era had TTT 620 meters as original.

Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Thu 08, 2018 1:34 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Tue 01, 2015 5:31 am
Posts: 1854
Location: Columbus Ohio
I see in its future a rewire and updates to make it bench useful. The value isn't much, nor rare, so the perfect donor to a new form and function
On/off switch, accessible power test points

_________________
Joe - There's no shortage of cruelty to animals: http://joinASPCA.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Thu 08, 2018 9:53 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3537
Location: Monterey California USA
I think the on-off function is a switch on that thumbwheel knob, is it not?

And if this is a dual polarity tracking supply, referenced against a common, do not the red and black pushbuttons just allow you to meter the negative or positive rails against common, separately?

_________________
WB6NVH
California Highway Patrol Radio
Bell System Mobile Telephone History
http://www.wb6nvh.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Fri 09, 2018 4:00 am 
Member

Joined: Aug Mon 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Posts: 69
I resurrected a few electrophoresis supplies from Bio-Rad; they needed modification to be useful for electronics. While the regulation was OK, the output noise and perhaps transient response weren't - those parameters didn't matter for the application. Suggest making sure you go over the performance of this thing before you power a project with it. Sometimes they have polarity reversal switches, a real no-no for my kind of electronic applications.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Fri 09, 2018 4:31 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23384
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
I stumbled on these for $5.
So I'm going to try it as an adjustable (200ma max) HV supply in my next audio amp.
I'll be feeding it with 18vDC . ( from this $5 wall wart https://www.ebay.com/itm/Universal-AC-t ... 2749.l2649 )
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Boost-Converte ... Swv-ZaEjKa

Image

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Fri 09, 2018 1:19 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 7:35 pm
Posts: 2593
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
If no schematic is available, draw one :) even guys need a road map every once in a while. I'd start there before diving into mods, although, the chances of letting out the smoke decrease if you proceed logically ...... muahahahahaha

_________________
Preserving the history of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Sat 10, 2018 3:53 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep Sun 13, 2015 6:05 am
Posts: 37
Location: Glendale, CA
I have one of those too, and have the schematic - PM me and I'll send it to you. The output is controlled by a relay, and won't energize unless there is a path wired up through the extra connections on those output connectors (safety loop? remote control?) - see schematic. The red and black buttons (momentary, one for each output connector) do nothing when the meter is reading voltage, but when then meter's set to measure current, they allow you to bypass the meter selectively for each output, I guess so you could monitor the current draw on each output individually. With neither button pressed, the meter reads the combined current draw.

I modified mine by removing the output cables, putting binding posts on the front, and adding a front panel switch to control the output relay. I replaced the electrolytics, and it is working well (except the selenium rectifiers need to go - getting stinky). I find it to be a useful and quiet HV supply.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Mar Fri 16, 2018 4:06 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct Fri 16, 2009 11:10 pm
Posts: 447
Location: Bergen The Netherlands
I use this Power-supply to revive my Electrolytes and give long unused tube radios a soft start.
!0 Volts up per time and watching the mA meter closely.
(If necessary with an external filament supply)
When the reading goes down and stays steady for a while then the next 10 Volts.
This with a maximum speed of ten minutes till the voltages noted on the Electrolytes is superseded with 10 %.
And leave the radio playing for at least an hour,knowing that the limited max. current of 50 Milliamps keeps things rather save.
This worked for most of my radios except the American models,these have most of their C´s leaking.

Another dubious use : welding broken wires in the primary side of output transformers.
Just connect 500 Volt to the points and with luck the current limiter takes over.
I have radios playing for years now thanks to this abuse.
Jard N.

Btw. I would be very pleased with a circuit diagram too.

_________________
If You Ain't Dutch, You Ain't Much


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Nov Thu 15, 2018 3:44 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Tue 01, 2015 5:31 am
Posts: 1854
Location: Columbus Ohio
Pbpix wrote:
I stumbled on these for $5.
So I'm going to try it as an adjustable (200ma max) HV supply in my next audio amp.
I'll be feeding it with 18vDC . ( from this $5 wall wart https://www.ebay.com/itm/Universal-AC-t ... 2749.l2649 )
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Boost-Converte ... Swv-ZaEjKa

Image


this would well with a 12v 500ma/1a wall wart to test OB2 tubes, I have quite a few, going to build a test jig with meters,
needing 130-180 to strike them, ma requirements low. I wonder how linear this is at100-180vdc range?
Replace their rheostat with a better multi turn to get better control

_________________
Joe - There's no shortage of cruelty to animals: http://joinASPCA.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Nov Thu 15, 2018 7:05 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23384
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
Geoff Fors wrote:
I think the on-off function is a switch on that thumbwheel knob, is it not?



Since the words on/off are printed by the thumb wheel, I'd agree that the thumbwheel is for on/off.

So.. to answer your question ("is it not?"): No. It is NOT, not the thumbwheel.

English constructs can be very funny.

Lawyers ask questions this way too. You are a policeman. Are you not?
Asking "are you not?", actually means: Do you deny it?
[ same as saying: "You are a policeman. Do you deny it?" ]

The policeman must reply: "No. I do not deny it"

So the lawyer has presented the witness with a very confusing statement/question combination.
First he made a statement: "You are a policeman."
Then he followed it with a question: "Are you not?" (meaning.. are you not a policeman?).. [ the question asks if he is NOT a police man.]

Therefore if the man is, in fact, a policeman, his only correct answer must be: No.
(The policeman must respond thusly: "Since I am a policeman" ... the answer to the question is:"No. I am NOT not a policeman.")

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Nov Thu 15, 2018 2:21 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Tue 01, 2015 5:31 am
Posts: 1854
Location: Columbus Ohio
yes the thumb wheel switches it off. I like the idea of push button control to energize the circuit.
I think this will be the basis of my OB2 tester, since everything is on hand to make it work.
And space for 3 meters, vdc in and out, mA in. (of OB2 tube)

_________________
Joe - There's no shortage of cruelty to animals: http://joinASPCA.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beckman RD Duo Power Supply
PostPosted: Nov Thu 15, 2018 2:43 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 7:35 pm
Posts: 2593
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
I would reply in anti-lawyerspeak "I am in fact a policeman. Can you please rephrase your question in simple english?"

hey, that's just the way I roll ;-)

_________________
Preserving the history of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], mikekent and 14 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB