Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Nov Sun 23, 2014 5:33 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]



Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Resistance Line Cords
PostPosted: Feb Fri 10, 2012 6:55 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 10, 2008 6:06 pm
Posts: 317
Location: San Antonio, TX
Has anyone ever found a way to soften a stiff resistance line cord? The internal wire covering has become brittle and I can hear it crackling when flexing. It would still be useful if it was bendable. I hate throwing out a new curtain burner.

Dale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resistance Line Cords
PostPosted: Feb Fri 10, 2012 7:32 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 31563
Location: Livermore, CA
Dale

There are chemicals that will soften a resistance line cord but they don't stay that way. A little while later you hear the crackling again. Believe under the cloth covered cords wires are in rubber insulation. Like rubber wire in old radios it cracks and breaks up. Even NOS resistor line cords have this problem.

Might check this site for alternatives to these line cords:

http://www.vintage-radio.com/repair-res ... calcs.html

_________________
Norm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resistance Line Cords
PostPosted: Feb Fri 10, 2012 9:16 pm 
Member

Joined: Aug Wed 24, 2011 4:35 am
Posts: 2391
Location: Sunnyvale CA
rxradio wrote:
Has anyone ever found a way to soften a stiff resistance line cord? The internal wire covering has become brittle and I can hear it crackling when flexing. It would still be useful if it was bendable. I hate throwing out a new curtain burner.


I certainly wouldn't throw out the radio, but there's no way in the world that you should be using a resistance line cord, NOS, soft, brittle, etc. Use a regular cord and a series cap to reduce the voltage to the required levels.

Brett


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resistance Line Cords
PostPosted: Feb Sun 12, 2012 4:51 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 10, 2008 6:06 pm
Posts: 317
Location: San Antonio, TX
Thanks Brett and Norm..I'm with both of you, but I have restored a 1932 Kadette pocket radio and need a "resistance line cord" for reality sake. I have used the capacitor/diode/resistor procedure many times, but there is no room in the cabinet for the large voltage drop, over 100 volts. My plan was to make up something to keep the set looking original with the line cord plugged in.

Cheers, Dale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resistance Line Cords
PostPosted: Feb Sun 12, 2012 5:05 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 21632
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Years ago I found a length of 4-conductor cloth covered cable and made up a power cord that didn't require any modification to the radio itself. Used a small box at the wall plug end with a transformer for reducing filament voltage to the correct amount, thus no heat. It was only a little bigger than the wall transformers we see everywhere today.

That may be the best direction to go in. There are vendors who still sell cloth covered multi conductor cable.

_________________
Dennis

Experience is what you gain when the results aren't what you were expecting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resistance Line Cords
PostPosted: Feb Sun 12, 2012 10:05 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2286
Location: Massachusetts
I seem to recall someone last year made their own resistance line cord using a resistance wire encased in the line cord. Might be worth searching for it.

I found this article on the web, the guy built an entire line cord, and it looks awesome.

http://cool386.tripod.com/linecord/linecord.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resistance Line Cords
PostPosted: Feb Sun 12, 2012 10:46 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 11, 2007 6:55 am
Posts: 7086
Location: Mission Viejo, southern California
It is so easy to use a capacitor, why bother with recreating a bad design which is a hazard? If a motor capacitor will not fit, film capacitors can be assembled to make the needed value.

_________________
many of my radios http://s269.photobucket.com/user/FSteph ... t=3&page=1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resistance Line Cords
PostPosted: Feb Mon 13, 2012 1:36 am 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 21632
Location: Detroit, MI USA
The particular radio in question is so physically small for its time, and the original tubes and components totally fill the case, that there is no room to add any combination of film type caps inside.

Any modification to the set would have to be external; or any possible way to provide the correct filament voltage coming in at the power connector.

_________________
Dennis

Experience is what you gain when the results aren't what you were expecting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resistance Line Cords
PostPosted: Feb Mon 13, 2012 4:10 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun Tue 10, 2008 6:06 pm
Posts: 317
Location: San Antonio, TX
Dennis: I love your idea of using a 4 conductor cable with a box at the plug end with filament power. Many thanks for all the answers.

Dale


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 9 posts ]  Moderators: Marcc, Norm Leal

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: paulf, Tinkering with the past and 7 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB