Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Dec Fri 19, 2014 2:32 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Philco Model 610 restoration
PostPosted: Jul Fri 31, 2009 1:21 am 

Hi all!

I just received a Philco Model 610 I'd like to restore (previously belonged to my grandparents). The radio is complete with no missing parts. I'm new to the restoration process, but I have read a few online articles to get me going. I have also found the schematic online and would like to replace all the capacitors, but I have a few questions:

1). Should I try plugging in this radio to see if it works (after it passes a dim bulb test)? All the wiring is intact, except the power cord which I will replace prior to the test.

2). Provided the radio works without replacing any of the original capacitors, should I replace them one at a time and power up the radio each time to make sure each is replaced correctly?

3). The schematic doesn't distinguish between electrolytic and non-polarized capacitors. How do I tell which is which? Is it safe to assume the larger valued capacitors are the electrolytic type?

Thanks again for your help!

Paul

Post subject:
PostPosted: Jul Fri 31, 2009 1:50 am 

I'd at least pull the chassis out and check underneath before powering it up. Plus you should use a variac to do this gradually. Don't power it up with the speaker unplugged either.