Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Dec Thu 18, 2014 10:44 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Quiet Radio Shack Lab-58
PostPosted: Sep Thu 10, 2009 7:24 pm 

Hi everyone, i am brand new to this site. I was given my mothers record player a Radio Shack Realistic Lab-58. i originally had it hooked up to a brand new receiver and the music was quiet, i assumed because i needed a preamp since there was no phono input. But i have switched setups and purchased a craig stereo with phono input. The music is still quiet when it is turned all the way up. Putting it in the tape input makes it a little louder. The radio works fine on it. So my question is do i still need a preamp even though it has a phono input? Or does something else need to be replaced.
Again i am new to record players and there components.
Thanks
Kgordon

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep Thu 10, 2009 7:53 pm 

It's quite possible that the Craig receiver has a Ceramic phono input. If that's the case, you'll still need a phono preamp since a ceramic cartridge produces a much higher output than a magnetic cartridge.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep Thu 10, 2009 9:37 pm 

Yes...you will need a pre-amp
-Tony

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep Thu 10, 2009 10:14 pm 

Before you buy a preamp, you should see how much they cost. Chances are you can pick up an older and higher quality receiver with a magnetic phone stage on CL for less than a new preamp. Don't invest any extra into keeping something like a Craig in your system. The LAB 58 is a later BSR, and while not a high quality machine it was a bit better than the earlier Realistic BSR changers. Good luck!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep Thu 10, 2009 10:35 pm 

so would i still plug into the phono input or does it not matter after the preamp? also i dont want to spend a ton of money, any suggestions for around 30-40 dollars?

Post subject: