Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Aug Thu 21, 2014 3:23 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]



Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sencore TC-162 Tube Tester - Wrong emisssion reading vs. Cal
PostPosted: Oct Sat 31, 2009 3:49 pm 
Member

Joined: Dec Sat 02, 2006 5:27 pm
Posts: 117
Location: New York
A weird thing is what happens with my TC-162. I cal'd the unit, leakage first then emission everything looked good. Then when I went to test a known strong 12AU7 it read low almost near the "?" mark. If I turn the emission pot near it's end, then the tube read about where it should in the Good section, but of course now the emission calibration is way off as it pertains to the cal. module.

The load setting for both the Cal. Module and 12AU7 are both "D" on the load switch.

Maybe someone could steer me in the right direction to where to look to fix my tester.

I have a know good carefully made Calibration Module.

Thanking in advance,

-TommyR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov Sun 01, 2009 2:00 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 26977
Location: Pocasset, Cape Cod, MA
Can't say that I've ever heard of a calibration module. Perhaps someone else has?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov Sun 01, 2009 1:29 pm 
Member

Joined: Dec Sat 02, 2006 5:27 pm
Posts: 117
Location: New York
Alan Douglas wrote:
Can't say that I've ever heard of a calibration module. Perhaps someone else has?


The manufacturer twll you how to make one will a octal tube socket and some resistors and a diode. It will "simulate" a tube so you cal adjust the two pots on the pcb for both grid leakage and emission.

Alan it says you joined in 1970 - this forum has been up that long?

-TommyR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov Sun 01, 2009 2:52 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 26977
Location: Pocasset, Cape Cod, MA
Quote:
this forum has been up that long?


Sure, it started when the Internet was tin cans and string.

Just a software glitch at one of the previous changeovers.

The only suggestion I can make is to check the heater voltage on the 12AU7.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov Sun 01, 2009 3:23 pm 
Member

Joined: Dec Sat 02, 2006 5:27 pm
Posts: 117
Location: New York
ok thanks Alan.

Sounds like you may have had a 300 baud rate modem.

-tr


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ed Morris, Radio_Collect and 8 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  



















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB