Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Sep Tue 02, 2014 12:42 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]



Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Heathkit AA-1515
PostPosted: Feb Tue 02, 2010 5:12 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Thu 09, 2009 2:58 am
Posts: 4698
Location: Seymour, Tennessee
I've had this Heathkit amp for a while now and was going to set it ip in my shop finally. Well, put a fuse in for the one that was missing, and powered it up. No pops and it didn't smoke. All lights except one lit up and the VU meters worked.

Well, connected a speaker and input but I get nothing. I can mess with the speaker 1 & 2 buttons and hear something out the speaker but not music.

Does anyone have a copy of the manual they would care to scan? I would really like to get it working before the Super Bowl if possible.

Any suggestions where to start trouble shooting this?

_________________
_______________________________________

http://www.facebook.com/HerSweetTemptress


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Feb Tue 02, 2010 5:37 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Thu 09, 2009 2:58 am
Posts: 4698
Location: Seymour, Tennessee
Something I was wondering, was I saw a pic somewhere of the back of a AA-1515 that had the pre-amp in and pre-amp out bridged.

If it were supposed to be like that, would that be what is keeping it from having any output?

_________________
_______________________________________

http://www.facebook.com/HerSweetTemptress


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Feb Tue 02, 2010 12:16 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1944
Location: OOLTEWAH,TN.
it will not work without the jumpers in SMITHY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Feb Tue 02, 2010 6:20 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Thu 09, 2009 2:58 am
Posts: 4698
Location: Seymour, Tennessee
Cool. Thanks Smithy.

_________________
_______________________________________

http://www.facebook.com/HerSweetTemptress


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Feb Tue 02, 2010 11:59 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 10699
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
From the web:

http://i304.photobucket.com/albums/nn17 ... CF1694.jpg

_________________
Don


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Feb Wed 03, 2010 2:37 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Thu 09, 2009 2:58 am
Posts: 4698
Location: Seymour, Tennessee
Don Cavey wrote:


That was the pic I saw. I just made up a set of jumpers and it's working great.

I finally noticed how cheap the junk is from Rat Shack. RCA connectors they have weren't worth the 3 bucks I paid. Anyone know of a supplier that sells quality RCA plugs?

_________________
_______________________________________

http://www.facebook.com/HerSweetTemptress


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Feb Wed 03, 2010 2:48 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Sun 24, 2010 7:59 am
Posts: 6171
Location: Pro Tech, Philadelphia Pa.
SMITHY wrote:
it will not work without the jumpers in SMITHY


Technically, they're called "Johnson Plugs", U-shaped bare, or sometimes fancy plastic.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Feb Wed 03, 2010 2:51 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 6552
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Try Allied Electronics.

http://www.alliedelec.com/

Larry

_________________
It don't make a go if it ain't got that GLOW!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Feb Wed 03, 2010 11:55 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1944
Location: OOLTEWAH,TN.
MOUSER and MCM ELECTRONICS has them also MOUSER don't have a min.order SMITHY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Feb Thu 04, 2010 5:44 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4294
Location: USA
For jumpers, I used a piece of solid copper house wire bent into a U-shape and left some insulation so it didn't touch the outer ground connection. You only need to connect the centers as the jacks are ground by the metal case.

-Ed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Feb Thu 11, 2010 5:01 pm 
New Member

Joined: Feb Thu 11, 2010 9:12 am
Posts: 1
The Heathkit AR-1500 was introduced about 1972 as Heath's top of the line successor to the famous AR-15. Available as both a kit and assembled, the kit list price was $349.95. The walnut cabinet was $24.95.



_________________
outsource movie | article cycle tv | articles trader | sem philippines


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  



















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB