Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Oct Sun 26, 2014 2:05 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]



Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Palomar 150 Bi-Linear
PostPosted: May Sun 23, 2010 2:55 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3339
Location: Medford,Or USA
The other day, a friend of mine gave me a Palomar 150 bi-linear amp he uses on ten meters. He wants me to fix it. He says it just quit on him.
You guys may have seen one of these and might be able to help me with it. There are a PP pair of 6LQ6s (6JE6Cs). One of those has a short, probably H/K. $60 a pop! Yeow!
But I can't tell what the driver tube is! It's an RCA Novar (big 9-pin) based, Plate out the top. Quite a bit shorter than the PP tubes.
Some call these Compactrons, but they're NOT. All I can see for the tube nomenclature is 12...the fil voltage. Does anybody know what the driver tube is??
The unit has a date of 4/72 and the tubes are dated 1972 and are tired! HELP if you can??

_________________
Steve McDonald


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Sun 23, 2010 3:27 am 
Member

Joined: Oct Sun 11, 2009 10:06 am
Posts: 1441
Location: British Columbia
Hello Tubenutt, Ive been waiting to say hi to the guy with "two t's" :D The tube is most likely a 12jb6 or a 6jb6 depending on how the filaments are configured on the 6lq6's. The 8950 was a very common tube used in these amps which makes me wonder if the Rf finals and sockets have been swapped. The 8950 is twice the price of the 6lq6.
Hope this helps. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Sun 23, 2010 3:40 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3339
Location: Medford,Or USA
After another "nose-poke" into the innards, I can see the 6LQ6s' filaments are in series, and the driver's fil is in parallel to that, so the power input is 12VDC from the truck's battery.
There are no obvious catastrophic (or even dogastrophic!) signs in there of something letting go, so I think it just needs re-tubed. [shudder] $150 for 3 tubes, and they aren't OLD tubes! sheesh! He doesn't know the tube prices yet, but he will today after he rolls in from Port Orford! hee heeeee. Better him than me, eh?? lol

But I still can't find out what the driver tube is! All there is left of the number is a 12...filament voltage. All I can say for certain is that it's a Magnovar-based triode (only see one pair of grid posts at the top mica), and the plate connection out the top. **siiiiiiiigh** Any help will be appreciated! :(

_________________
Steve McDonald


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Sun 23, 2010 6:13 pm 
Member

Joined: Jul Tue 21, 2009 1:38 pm
Posts: 461
Location: SW WA state
Hi Tubenutt,

Have you tried posting over on the CB technician's group yet?

http://www.cbtricks.com/egroups.htm

I find the regulars every bit as generous and helpful as the folks over here.
Good luck!

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Sun 23, 2010 6:45 pm 
Member

Joined: Mar Tue 04, 2008 8:28 pm
Posts: 3531
Location: New Jersey
I've never messed with the 12v versions but I've owned a couple of similar amps that ran on mains current. The 6LQ6 is a horizontal sweep tube that happens to work out nicely as an RF amp. They are indeed very pricey, mostly because they got swept up to make inexpensive CB amplifiers when the tubes were common. Now that they're no longer in production, the supply is dwindling pretty badly. About 10 years ago when I needed a set, they were $40 each and I balked then. I guess I should have bought a set.

_________________
Saving vintage electronics, one dumpster at a time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 3:54 am 
Member

Joined: Oct Sun 11, 2009 10:06 am
Posts: 1441
Location: British Columbia
http://cbtricks.com/Amp/palomar/150/index.htm

Here is your amplifier. Supposed to have 8950's and a 12jb6 as said in an earlier post. I would imagine that someone has modified it.
Good luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 4:02 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3339
Location: Medford,Or USA
Nope! This unit has 3 RCA tubes.... ALL dated 1972, along with a 4/72 inside on the floor pan.! The schematic I have also says 2 8950s and 1 12JB6A. Don't know. Maybe I should look up subs and see what's what. But these tubes appear to be the OEM tubes. :?

_________________
Steve McDonald


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 4:24 am 
Member

Joined: Oct Sun 11, 2009 10:06 am
Posts: 1441
Location: British Columbia
Well Palomar was kind of funny with ther model #'s The 8950 has a 13.0 Volt heater. At this point most any sweep tube with equal plate dissipation will most likely work. A nice tube with gobs of "reserve" plate dissipation is the 6kg6 or el509. For a C.B.er, these were safe tubes. They really handle improper tuning. You will find that the pins on the base of the tube are a little thicker, but it will fit in a 9 contact socket just fine. I have not checked out the pin configuration, so some may need swapping.
Good luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 4:32 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3339
Location: Medford,Or USA
I was just checking that on NJ7P's, and YES, you're right! The 6LQ6's pinout is 9QL...30 Watts, the 8950's is......8950...33Watts!!! 6KG6 is 9RJ....only 7 Watts. Good grief!! NO WONDER these linears were illegal for CB!!!

_________________
Steve McDonald


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 5:11 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2719
Location: Athens, Greece
Do everyone on 10 and 11 meters, and anyone within 25 miles with a TV set a favor and smash the damn thing. Those things were absolute crap then and they're no better now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 5:20 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3339
Location: Medford,Or USA
:lol: :lol: :lol:
After my trucker friend finds out what it's gonna cost for the tubes, he might give it up anyway! :lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
Steve McDonald


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 5:30 am 
Member

Joined: Oct Sun 11, 2009 10:06 am
Posts: 1441
Location: British Columbia
6KG6 is only 7 Watts??? Try 35 Watts. The base is KG6, Magnovel T-12, Button 9 pin. Maybe you are thinking 6GK6? Just wondering w3jn, "What would make you think this amplifier is crappy on 10 meters?" The construction of the amplifier "internally" is ok, and they do use parasitic traps on the plates.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 5:38 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3339
Location: Medford,Or USA
OH, CRAP! I looked up 6gk6! I SURE DID! DANG, that's a lot of power! 7 Watts! Yepppp! :lol: Thanks for the correction, ol' ONE T!
Yeah, this unit is well-built and has RF traps to ground everywhere.

_________________
Steve McDonald


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 6:04 am 
Member

Joined: Oct Sun 11, 2009 10:06 am
Posts: 1441
Location: British Columbia
Usually those EL-509 6KG6's can be bought for dirt cheap. You may want to look into some of these. They "Bias easy", and even do well in audio modulator projects for larger transmitters. The biggest of the bunch is the 6LF6. These were also widely used in 10 meter amplifiers. This tube has a plate dissipation of 40 watts, the largest in the sweep tube category. The only problem would be.....The sockets are 12 pin :(
Most all of the old Palomar amps are built well...as you can see by the date code on the tubes. That was a good life for those tubes. This is because the Palomar designers never pushed the rf final tubes to the limit. Splattering and disturbing a neighbors TV or Radio was most likely due to the operator (Breaker Breaker 19) :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 6:46 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2719
Location: Athens, Greece
This is truly surreal; I thought tubenutt was talking to himself here :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 6:51 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3339
Location: Medford,Or USA
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Don't worry! I've been dotty for YEARS!

_________________
Steve McDonald


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 7:14 am 
Member

Joined: Oct Sun 11, 2009 10:06 am
Posts: 1441
Location: British Columbia
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Don't worry! I've been dotty for YEARS!

Oh crap...double post :o ...JUST KIDDING! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May Mon 24, 2010 7:18 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 3339
Location: Medford,Or USA
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Don't worry, I'.... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
Steve McDonald


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 18 posts ]  Moderator: Sandy

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB