Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: The Souvenir Shop :: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Apr Fri 18, 2014 2:08 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]



Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Eico 1078 (variac sort of)
PostPosted: Feb Tue 01, 2005 6:36 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 250
Location: Martinsburg, WV, USA
Hi, I picked up a Eico 1078 variable power supply. I have two questions. 1)The meter reads about 10 volts low at all places; is there a way to calibrate the meter? and 2)Does this unit act as an isolation transformer or should I still use a separate one? Thanks <P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Eico 1078 (variac sort of)
PostPosted: Feb Tue 01, 2005 6:41 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 21000
Location: Maryland, USA
There should be some way of calibrating the voltmeter, but I can't guarantee it.<P>An isolation transformer will be a separate component. It can't be built into the Variac itself, by definition. Measure the resistance between the input and output connectors. If there's an iso in the circuit, it should read hundreds of megohms, effectively an open circuit. Any lower reading indicates no iso.<P>------------------<BR>73 de Leigh W3NLB | | Leigh@AtwaterKent.Info<BR><A HREF="http://www.AtwaterKent.info" TARGET=_blank>http://www.AtwaterKent.info</A> | | <A HREF="http://www.Synchrophase.info" TARGET=_blank>http://www.Synchrophase.info</A>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Eico 1078 (variac sort of)
PostPosted: Feb Tue 01, 2005 7:18 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 250
Location: Martinsburg, WV, USA
Thanks, Leigh. <P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Eico 1078 (variac sort of)
PostPosted: Feb Tue 01, 2005 7:27 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2641
Location: Sarasota FL USA
I have a 1078, too. My meter reads more than 10 volts low, more like 30 volts. I see no adjustment. I have suspected, but not bothered to confirm that it is due to the meter rectifier (inside the meter). I just use an external meter. The transformer is not isolated. I have it plugged into a 1KVA isolation transformer. <P>------------------<BR>Brian McAllister<BR>Sarasota FL<BR> <A HREF="http://oldtech.net" TARGET=_blank>http://oldtech.net</A><BR>bkm@oldtech.net


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Erik K, Protista_1 and 4 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  














Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB