Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Sep Wed 17, 2014 2:30 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]



Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 8:07 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 505
Location: Arvada, Co., USA
I just acquired a Silvertone Neutrodyne console radio.<P>I can't find any information on it, but it does have an I.D. plate on the chassis. <P>It says:<P>Neutrodyne<BR>Licensed<BR>Independent Radio Manufactures<BR>Made Exclusively for<BR>Sears Roebuck & Co.<P>The last patent date is April 14, 1925.<BR>I was wondering if anyone had any information on this radio.<BR>As soon as I can get a photo, I will post it.<P>Thanks<P>Rich<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 4:24 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1827
Location: Sanford, North Carolina
Hi Rich,<BR>Do you have the chassis out of the cabinet??<BR>Some place on the chassis is a model number. What you have told us is not enough!! You see a lot of manufactures made them for sears , not just one or two!!<BR><P>------------------<BR>Rick Dippolito<BR>THE PHILCO RESTORER at<BR> <A HREF="http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html" TARGET=_blank>http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html</A>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 5:07 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 822
Location: Cape Breton Island
The chassis was made by the King Mfg company which at the time made radios for Sears. Not sure about the cabinet. Try to list some of the tube numbers and how many in your next post. <P><BR>------------------<BR>Ken


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 5:58 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1827
Location: Sanford, North Carolina
Yep, your right Ken, have an R4432 made by them in 1925 up on E bay now!!<BR>But was King Mfg. The only one’s at that time ??<BR>Probably it has 26 tube’s <BR><P>------------------<BR>Rick Dippolito<BR>THE PHILCO RESTORER at<BR> <A HREF="http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html" TARGET=_blank>http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html</A>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 6:52 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 822
Location: Cape Breton Island
Hi Rick . From what I can gather King Quality Products Inc. owned by W.G King began around 1924. Located in Buffalo N.Y. (Here's were it gets murky). It was connected with the King Manufacturing Company formerly the King Sewing Machine Company owned by Sears and Roebuck. Maybe the radio historians can add or correct that.<P>------------------<BR>Ken


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 7:23 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 505
Location: Arvada, Co., USA
The set has 5 - 01A's in the line up.<P>I looked all over the chassis for a model number, but can't find one. It does have a SN - B11204.<P>The tunning caps say "King Quality" on them.<P>Would a closeup photo of the chassis be of any help.<P>I did some internet searching last night and found information about Prof. Hazeltine. His name was listed on the patent plate. I found it to be interesting.<BR> <A HREF="http://www.digitaldeliftp.com/LookAround/lookaround_techspot.html" TARGET=_blank>http://www.digitaldeliftp.com/LookAround/lookaround_techspot.html</A> <P>I would like to find a schematic too. Would any "Neutrodyne" set have the same schematic?<P>Thanks again for any help with this unit.<P>Rich<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 7:37 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1827
Location: Sanford, North Carolina
Rich, this a battery set ?? must be more tubes than that!! Look on the white strip <P>------------------<BR>Rick Dippolito<BR>THE PHILCO RESTORER at<BR> <A HREF="http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html" TARGET=_blank>http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html</A>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 7:45 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 505
Location: Arvada, Co., USA
Yes, this is a battery set and there are only 5 01A tubes. The guy that I got it from says that it works. I have tested all of the tubes and they are good. I am unsure of the voltage for the "A" battery. It requires two "B" voltages, 45v and 90v and those are labeled on the back of the chassis. <P>This is a cool looking unit and I don't want to screw it up. It only has one cap, and that is in a metal can on the bottom. It says 1 mfd.<P>Rich<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 8:13 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 822
Location: Cape Breton Island
Rich check out <A HREF="http://www.nostalgiaair.org/Riders/KMC.htm" TARGET=_blank>http://www.nostalgiaair.org/Riders/KMC.htm</A> <BR> I have a model 30 (KING) 5 201a's 5 volt filaments. Try Sears Roebuck schematics on NA as well. <P>------------------<BR>Ken


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 8:35 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1827
Location: Sanford, North Carolina
There’s 3 King chassis that use just 5 - 01A tubes , a King 30-40 a king 25,and a king 10K1, 105K ??<BR>And I have the rider schematic's for them!<P>------------------<BR>Rick Dippolito<BR>THE PHILCO RESTORER at<BR> <A HREF="http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html" TARGET=_blank>http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html</A>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 8:41 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 27201
Location: Pocasset, Cape Cod, MA
There's an eight-page chapter on King in Radio Manufacturers of the 1920s, vol.2, with some full-page ads. You might have the model 61 or 63 (September 1926) but not all the console models were widely advertised. The circuit is fairly generic.<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 9:01 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1827
Location: Sanford, North Carolina
Nope , Alan, 61 & 63 used 71 or 112 tubes<P>------------------<BR>Rick Dippolito<BR>THE PHILCO RESTORER at<BR> <A HREF="http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html" TARGET=_blank>http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html</A>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 9:06 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 822
Location: Cape Breton Island
Rick could you email me a King 30 schematic.<P>------------------<BR>Ken


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 9:39 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 505
Location: Arvada, Co., USA
Ken,<P>If I understand it right, I need to use 5v for the "A" voltage, is that correct?<P>Now for me to really expose my ignorance. This unit has more knobs than I know what to do with.<P>In addition to the three large tuning caps, I have: "Switch-Control 1", "Control 2" & "Control 3". The "Switch Controls" are wire wound reostats. <P>I don't have a clue how to begin to find a station with the three large tunning caps. Is there a site that has instructions for using these radios?<P>Thanks,<P>Rich<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 10:22 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1827
Location: Sanford, North Carolina
All sent Rich,<BR>not much of a schematic or maybe Im<BR>to used to PHILCO's schematic's <P>------------------<BR>Rick Dippolito<BR>THE PHILCO RESTORER at<BR> <A HREF="http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html" TARGET=_blank>http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html</A>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 10:53 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 505
Location: Arvada, Co., USA
Thanks Rick,<P>It may not be much of a schematic, but then their are not many parts in this unit. The wiring is square solid copper bars. A new experience for me. BYW, I also got a "homebrew" unit at the same time that I got the Silvertone. It looks very similar and I hope to get that thing working too.<P>Rich <P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sat 01, 2003 11:26 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 31309
Location: Livermore, CA
Hi Rich<P> Rheostats are used to adjust filament voltage & control volume. All three tuning knobs need to be set at about the same point. Peak up the signal after you hear a station.<P> These radios have 2 RF stages, detector and 2 audio amplifiers. <P> Radios aren't hard to operate. Connect an antenna & ground unless you have a power supply which gives the ground. Connect a high impedance speaker or modern one with output transformer. <P> Connect voltages. "A" should be above 5 volts. Originally 6 volt car batteries were used. For "B" you will need 90 & detector voltage, usually 22 1/2 or 45. Some require "C" voltage of - 4 1/2 volts. Turn up rheostats until you have around 5 volts on filaments. Line up the three tuners. Since it's a working radio you should hear stations set like this. <P>------------------<BR>Norm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sun 02, 2003 12:51 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 27201
Location: Pocasset, Cape Cod, MA
I have a 1925 Sears radio catalog (xerox) but I think it's early 1925 as it's essentially the same as the 1924. Okay, it can't be a 61 or 63 with only five tubes. It isn't a 10SK, 25, 30, or 35. Maybe a 40; I don't have any illustrations of that model. All Sears sets in this era were made by King Quality Products. I'm not certain of the exact connection to Sears but in effect it was wholly owned. There's a photo of the factory, and of one production line with girls assembling condensers, in my book.<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Silvertone Neutrodyne
PostPosted: Nov Sun 02, 2003 12:53 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 505
Location: Arvada, Co., USA
Holy smokes, it works.<P>I just got it hooked up and it was just dead. Two of the tubes were not getting power. Just a quick visual inspection showed one of the brass contacts was not touching one of the pins on one of the tubes. A slight bend took care of that. I put the power to it again and it works.<P>Needless to say I am amazed. This radio appears to be 78 years old and it even speaks Spanish.<P>Thanks for all the advice and information.<P>Just one more question. The one cap in the radio is an original, but since it works should I just leave well enough alone?<P>Rich<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 19 posts ]  Moderators: sofaslug, Paul

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gary Tayman, Skip, TexMac and 11 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  



















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB