Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Oct Sun 26, 2014 9:33 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]



Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to use a signal tracer?
PostPosted: Jan Mon 23, 2006 7:54 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 87
Location: Pembroke, Va USA
Im looking for a source for a book, etc. on how to use a signal tracer.<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: How to use a signal tracer?
PostPosted: Jan Mon 23, 2006 10:32 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 22841
Location: Maryland 20709, USA
Hi Jeff,<P>We don' need no stinkin' buk <IMG SRC="http://antiqueradios.com/forums/biggrin.gif"><P>A signal tracer is just a very high-gain audio amplifier. Add an RF detector probe to get the audio from the RF and you have a basic receiving system.<P>Inject a modulated signal into the radio being repaired (usually at the antenna) and follow it through from one grid to the next until you lose it. You just passed the bad stage <IMG SRC="http://antiqueradios.com/forums/biggrin.gif"><P>You can also inject a signal at the IF into the 1st mixer grid and trace it through the IF stages. This is sometimes easier since you don't have to tune the radio to find the generator signal.<P>You can trace through the audio stages by using a simple wire or clip lead rather than the demodulator probe. It's wise to put a small capacitor (.01 mfd @ 630 volts) at the end and use its lead as the test prod.<P>------------------<BR>73 de Leigh W3NLB | | Leigh@AtwaterKent.Info<BR><A HREF="http://www.AtwaterKent.info" TARGET=_blank>http://www.AtwaterKent.info</A> | | <A HREF="http://www.Synchrophase.info" TARGET=_blank>http://www.Synchrophase.info</A>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: How to use a signal tracer?
PostPosted: Jan Mon 23, 2006 10:40 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1088
Location: Carlotta,Ca
Hi Jeff,<BR>Here is a great link that will take you through signal tracing step-by-step.<BR> <A HREF="http://www.nostalgiaair.org/References/Articles/post/index.htm" TARGET=_blank>http://www.nostalgiaair.org/References/Articles/post/index.htm</A> <BR><P>------------------<BR>Les


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: How to use a signal tracer?
PostPosted: Jan Wed 25, 2006 1:00 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 555
Location: Des Moines,Iowa
Hi, I think that link RAdio gave you hits the nail on the head - I am even going to read it. If you buy an Signal Tracer off Ebay look for one that has the operation manual with it or look at the Bama site see if you can get a free copy of the manufacture and model number. - good look bob <P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




















Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB