Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Feb Tue 25, 2020 10:33 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Wed 22, 2020 3:38 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4911
Location: Eschew Obfuscation Virginia 23005
https://www.ebay.com/itm/324047311691

GL,

Terry


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Wed 22, 2020 6:29 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Wed 23, 2008 2:34 am
Posts: 1096
Location: Silsbee, Tx
Yes, he originally listed it as a model 10 4340, which exited me since they are hard to find. I asked him if it said Radiodyne or Model 10 on the coils. He said Radiodyne. He then relisted it as such.
I'm still looking for the early Model 10 with all the binding posts, that is NOT a Radiodyne.

_________________
Thanks,
Jimmy

http://www.atwaterkentsrus.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Wed 22, 2020 9:42 pm 
Member

Joined: Feb Wed 25, 2009 4:06 pm
Posts: 1443
Location: Morristown, N.J.
Clearly not a Radiodyne. What bothers me is that the detector/amplifier is painted brown while the tuning cap cans are green.

_________________
Pete AI2V

"It's always darkest before it's pitch black"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Thu 23, 2020 12:18 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Wed 23, 2008 2:34 am
Posts: 1096
Location: Silsbee, Tx
Pete,
I agree the TA unit should not be brown. It should be green. Someone replaced it at some time. The rest of the unit does look like one of the later Radiodynes.

_________________
Thanks,
Jimmy

http://www.atwaterkentsrus.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Thu 23, 2020 3:25 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 420
Location: Sandhills of Nebraska, 69170
Didn't all Radiodyne tuning condensers have the brass terminals on the front? These don't, and from what I see in the pics, I don't see any holes in the board where the wiring would have went up through to them either.

Seems like a collection of different parts made to be a Radiodyne to me, but I could be wrong.

Travis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Thu 23, 2020 3:47 am 
Member

Joined: Mar Fri 28, 2008 2:49 pm
Posts: 1403
Location: Phoenix, AZ 85085
LBF ARSR wrote:
Didn't all Radiodyne tuning condensers have the brass terminals on the front? These don't, and from what I see in the pics, I don't see any holes in the board where the wiring would have went up through to them either.

Seems like a collection of different parts made to be a Radiodyne to me, but I could be wrong.

Travis

yep, it looks like the only thing Radiodyne are the RF coils. At over $1,100 already with a replaced T/A I would think it is maxed out.

Not to mention the disaster the wiring is!
Alan
Attachment:
4340 non radiodyne eb.jpg
4340 non radiodyne eb.jpg [ 461.83 KiB | Viewed 642 times ]


A real Radiodyne wiring.
Attachment:
4340 Ebay 9_09 $3050 8.jpg
4340 Ebay 9_09 $3050 8.jpg [ 100.68 KiB | Viewed 642 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Thu 23, 2020 4:03 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug Mon 20, 2012 12:23 pm
Posts: 1636
Location: Groveland MA
Maybe I could talk the seller into trading RF coils with me :P

Russ


Attachments:
top view.jpeg
top view.jpeg [ 223.85 KiB | Viewed 637 times ]

_________________
A place for everything, everything in it's place. I just don't remember where all those places are.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Thu 23, 2020 4:16 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Wed 23, 2008 2:34 am
Posts: 1096
Location: Silsbee, Tx
LBF ARSR wrote:
Didn't all Radiodyne tuning condensers have the brass terminals on the front? These don't, and from what I see in the pics, I don't see any holes in the board where the wiring would have went up through to them either.

Seems like a collection of different parts made to be a Radiodyne to me, but I could be wrong.

Travis


Normally I would agree. But in this case, I think the last Radiodynes may not have had binding posts on the tuning capacitors. Serial numbers A3110 and A3341 are just like this one (Radiodyne tags but no binding posts on tuning capacitors) This one (A2937) is the lowest serial I've seen without the binding posts.

Does anyone here have a Radiodyne with serial number between A2937 and A3341 that actually has the binding posts on the tuning capacitors?

_________________
Thanks,
Jimmy

http://www.atwaterkentsrus.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Thu 23, 2020 11:48 am 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 130
Location: Chapel Hill, NC, USA
atwaterkentsrus wrote:
LBF ARSR wrote:
Didn't all Radiodyne tuning condensers have the brass terminals on the front? These don't, and from what I see in the pics, I don't see any holes in the board where the wiring would have went up through to them either.

Seems like a collection of different parts made to be a Radiodyne to me, but I could be wrong.

Travis


Normally I would agree. But in this case, I think the last Radiodynes may not have had binding posts on the tuning capacitors. Serial numbers A3110 and A3341 are just like this one (Radiodyne tags but no binding posts on tuning capacitors) This one (A2937) is the lowest serial I've seen without the binding posts.

Does anyone here have a Radiodyne with serial number between A2937 and A3341 that actually has the binding posts on the tuning capacitors?


Jimmy,

Here's SN 3114 with binding posts on the tuners. I sold this about a dozen years ago. Don't know where it is now. All I have are archived pics.

-- Grant


Attachments:
4.jpg
4.jpg [ 319.01 KiB | Viewed 595 times ]
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 121.43 KiB | Viewed 595 times ]
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 252.54 KiB | Viewed 595 times ]
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 134.63 KiB | Viewed 595 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Thu 23, 2020 5:41 pm 
Member

Joined: Feb Wed 25, 2009 4:06 pm
Posts: 1443
Location: Morristown, N.J.
Just as a reference of a very early Radiodyne, this is a pic of A0014. I'm definitely not an expert and had always thought that all Radiodynes had the cap binding posts; I have nothing to offer as proof.


Attachments:
Rdyne top front .jpg
Rdyne top front .jpg [ 315.54 KiB | Viewed 559 times ]

_________________
Pete AI2V

"It's always darkest before it's pitch black"
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Thu 23, 2020 6:23 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr Wed 23, 2008 2:34 am
Posts: 1096
Location: Silsbee, Tx
Thanks Grant for the pics of A3114. I thought I had pics of all the AK's you had sold, but maybe I wasn't saving all of them that long ago. Well, I have it now. I thought I was onto something when A2937, A3310 and A3341 all had no binding posts on the tuning capacitors. Why they have no binding posts, but your A3114 does, I have no idea. I guess I may never know.

_________________
Thanks,
Jimmy

http://www.atwaterkentsrus.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Sun 26, 2020 8:39 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 4911
Location: Eschew Obfuscation Virginia 23005
Sold for $2,301.00!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Atwater Kent 4340 RADIODYNE
PostPosted: Jan Sun 26, 2020 9:22 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 832
Location: Henderson, NV
Wow,

Hope he is not upset when he finds out.
________________
xeric
N7CAH


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 13 posts ]  Moderator: Lou deGonzague

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  






























-->


Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB