Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Feb Sat 22, 2020 7:08 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: AM LOOP Antenna
PostPosted: Jan Sat 25, 2014 10:43 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 34013
Location: SoCal, 91387
davep wrote:

Fifties, log em over on lispo id like to see your stations 8)
You might try dropping various small caps between the diode and the amp to ground .

Lispo? Link please. Several of the stations at the upper end of the band are foreign language, and not just Spanish, so dunno if I'd be able to ID them.

Re dropping small caps, you mean like .1/.01 discs? Between Diode Cathode and ground? What effect would they have?

_________________
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\He Who Dies With The Most Radios Wins//////////////////


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AM LOOP Antenna
PostPosted: Jan Sat 25, 2014 11:10 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul Sun 21, 2013 12:21 am
Posts: 5006
Location: Vieques,PR 00765 USA
Hey fifties, you may now be bitten by the crystal radio DX bug! Sounds like your setup is working great. That's a hard one to shake.

Info, like Dave says, yes indeed. With a bit of playing around you might get some unexpected results. Once while using my loop with a transistor radio I hit a magic combination where the physical arrangement became uni-directional over at least part of the band. Cancellation, I guess.

_________________
-Bill

Visit my homebrew page
www.sparkbench.com/homebrew/homebrew.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AM LOOP Antenna
PostPosted: Jan Sun 26, 2014 12:29 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2588
Location: Virginia Beach Va
Here 50s viewtopic.php?f=2&t=207609&start=640


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AM LOOP Antenna
PostPosted: Jan Thu 23, 2020 7:20 am 
Member

Joined: Feb Fri 01, 2019 11:35 pm
Posts: 327
Location: Riverside Ca. 92504
This looks likes good topic to be reviewed again. That loop antenna seems like it can be made with not a lot of work You seem to make it look easy. Any tunable cap will work ??? Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AM LOOP Antenna
PostPosted: Jan Thu 23, 2020 7:29 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 34013
Location: SoCal, 91387
Hey Tom,
I used one from a junked AA5. Using my bridge, it measured 405 pF, but I would imagine any metal air variable from an AM radio should work just fine. All you need to use on it is one of the gangs, whichever works better.

_________________
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\He Who Dies With The Most Radios Wins//////////////////


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AM LOOP Antenna
PostPosted: Jan Fri 24, 2020 6:47 am 
Member

Joined: Feb Fri 01, 2019 11:35 pm
Posts: 327
Location: Riverside Ca. 92504
I have a lot of the condensers in the junk pile. to try. I have several from some small radios I can give a try first. Thanks for the information. I need to get the hoops but that should not be a problem. Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  






























-->


Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB