Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Oct Sun 17, 2021 1:53 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 2165 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 109  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Mon 20, 2015 12:06 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2101
Location: NorthWest TN.
How about these? 12.5mm x 40mm I`ve used this company for smaller caps to restuff can caps.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2pcs-220uf-200v ... 1e8b884624

_________________
I never loose. I either win or I learn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Mon 20, 2015 12:11 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
drmitch wrote:
How about these? 12.5mm x 40mm I`ve used this company for smaller caps to restuff can caps.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2pcs-220uf-200v ... 1e8b884624

Thanks a lot Mitch:
...but those only 220uf and 200v
We need a minimum of 350v .... and somewhere around 390-470uf

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Mon 20, 2015 12:25 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2101
Location: NorthWest TN.
You have a dilemma! :D

_________________
I never loose. I either win or I learn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Mon 20, 2015 12:32 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
drmitch wrote:
You have a dilemma! :D

Well I can continue to use the 470uf@450v fat ones that we alreay have... just kinda big.
.... or I can hope to find these 470uf@350v elsewhere cheaper:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Condensateur-ch ... 27ccb8a8ed

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Mon 20, 2015 2:15 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5357
Location: Los Angeles
Thanks Mitch. I am just going to use what I have. Mine and Peters chassy will both be big enough.
Peter, I sure do like the looks of your chassy. Those big fat tubes will look very cool.
I have all of the power supply parts now. First, I will make the wood ends, and drill the holes.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Mon 20, 2015 5:52 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
John:
I was looking closely at some of the "light ballast" wire you sent to me. I see what nice quality it is. It is stranded but all pre-tinned under the insulation. So it's flexible like stranded but acts like solid wire only more flexible.
So I think I'm going to wire this whole amp with it ( in honor of you and your generosity and in recognition of your up-coming retirement and for your outstanding Naval service in peacetime and your good looks!)
Thanks.

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Mon 20, 2015 10:08 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
Here's tonight's progress of wiring the correct respective active pins for the octal and 7-pin sockets in parallel. All except the filaments:

Image

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Mon 20, 2015 8:01 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5357
Location: Los Angeles
Pbpix wrote:
John:
I was looking closely at some of the "light ballast" wire you sent to me. I see what nice quality it is. It is stranded but all pre-tinned under the insulation. So it's flexible like stranded but acts like solid wire only more flexible.
So I think I'm going to wire this whole amp with it ( in honor of you and your generosity and in recognition of your up-coming retirement and for your outstanding Naval service in peacetime and your good looks!)
Thanks.



Wow. You are the Man. I thought you would like that wire, easy to strip.
Good looks, well my Mother thinks so.
I like being good to good people, and you deserve it.
If I didn't start out in the service I would not have the interests I have today in electronics and other good things.
Every young man should put a couple of years in the service. The Country would be a better place.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Mon 20, 2015 8:02 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5357
Location: Los Angeles
Pbpix wrote:
Here's tonight's progress of wiring the correct respective active pins for the octal and 7-pin sockets in parallel. All except the filaments:

Image



Nice Peter. Some great work there, and inspiration.
I will start mine soon, I hope....

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Tue 21, 2015 8:49 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5357
Location: Los Angeles
I see you bonded all the sockets. Will that serve as a grounded chassis?
Made me think. I never did ground the output transformers on my amp.
I guess they didn't need to be. The sound is already so sweet.
When I build the next 5902, I cant think of any improvements.
Did you say to use a 20 volt zener for the CCS?

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Tue 21, 2015 9:15 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
Here's tonight's progress.
I wired all the filaments. Also mounted dpdt A/B switch in the center of the filament string.
The idea is to be able to use the same 25v@450ma filament power source to feed either the 6v6 tubes or the 12v6 tubes depending on which ones I have in the same sockets.

Had to put my brain into gear to figure out the switch wiring...lol

See if any of you reading this can draw it.... maybe easy for you but I had to really think twice. :lol:
Image
Image

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Tue 21, 2015 9:19 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
I see you bonded all the sockets. Will that serve as a grounded chassis?
Made me think. I never did ground the output transformers on my amp.
I guess they didn't need to be. The sound is already so sweet.
When I build the next 5902, I cant think of any improvements.
Did you say to use a 20 volt zener for the CCS?

Hi John:
Yes I bonded all the sockets but simply to allow that to be my common ground tie point. (B-)

One side of the OT 2ndary should go to (B-) yes.

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Tue 21, 2015 9:37 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5357
Location: Los Angeles
IC peter.
Could you have just wired up all sockets, then remove the set your not using?

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Tue 21, 2015 9:38 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
I see you bonded all the sockets. Will that serve as a grounded chassis?
Made me think. I never did ground the output transformers on my amp.
I guess they didn't need to be. The sound is already so sweet.
When I build the next 5902, I cant think of any improvements.
Did you say to use a 20 volt zener for the CCS?

Yes for THIS 6V6 amp the CCS uses a 20v Zener since our bias on the 6v6 grid is at -17.5v the Zener has to be a few volts higher.

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Last edited by Pbpix on Apr Tue 21, 2015 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Tue 21, 2015 9:42 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
IC peter.
Could you have just wired up all sockets, then remove the set your not using?

I did that. But not the way you're thinking.
I will either have all 4 sockets 6V6 ... then the switch goes into the 6V position... and all sockets are in series.
BUT... When I pull the 6v6s out.... and use the 12V6 tubes in those same sockets, ..then I'll have to slide the switch to the 12v position so as to re-arrange the socket wiring so that the string can be split in two paths.
There's only 4 sockets and if they have 6v6 (450ma ea) ... then they ALL (4) are in series 25v @ 450ma.
But if using 12v6 (225ma ea) then I have to split the string into two parallel sets of two tubes so that the 450ma current SPLITS and feeds each string of 2 so that each gets 25v @225ma.
Image

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Tue 21, 2015 8:12 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5357
Location: Los Angeles
Ok, I see. You are way ahead of me.
Now if you could design a ( smart circuit ) that will automatically detect the tube and switch
the voltage. Get back to me when you figure it out.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Tue 21, 2015 9:01 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
Ok, I see. You are way ahead of me.
Now if you could design a ( smart circuit ) that will automatically detect the tube and switch
the voltage. Get back to me when you figure it out.

Yeah.. the "smart ckt" is my finger on the slide switch!

I was originally going to do it the easier way: I was going to keep the 12V6 tubes all in series too and use a second dropper cap (5uf) for that current. But four 12v6s in series would required 50v @ 225ma. Then I could just use and A/B switch to switch between the 10uf and 5uf dropper caps.
But I didn't like having the filaments up at 50v ( don't know if it would have mattered but sometimes there are voltage limits from cathode to heater)
It would have required another dropper cap too.
But the way I'm doing it now still requires a slide switch but not an extra dropper cap... and the filament string supply voltage stays at 25v@450ma
So it's just a more elegant solution.

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Tue 21, 2015 10:07 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
John:
Here's the actual wiring arrangement for that A/B switch should you decide you want to add the 12V6 tube option to your 6V6 amp as well.
Image
Image

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Wed 22, 2015 2:10 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 2101
Location: NorthWest TN.
Nice work, Peter!

_________________
I never loose. I either win or I learn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 6V6 / 6AQ5 PP Stereo Amp
PostPosted: Apr Wed 22, 2015 8:41 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23663
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
Tonight was just a lot of slow careful hole drilling and metal cutting.
I had to rout out the thick wood on the lower front and then cover that w/a brass plate so that I can mount jacks and lamp etc.
I got most of that done without incident but it was slow and anxious type work.
Anyway... I don't have the front hasp mounted yet and I think I'll wait till I get the back hinges in place first.
So here's what it looks like at this point:
Image

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 2165 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 109  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stevebyan and 9 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB