Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Mar Sun 29, 2020 4:23 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Power supply for farm radio
PostPosted: Jan Sun 29, 2017 11:29 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 34397
Location: SoCal, 91387
Re-read my last post. Given that batteries were made in specific voltage ranges, 45, 67.5, 90, 130, etc., radio manufacturers would recommend one of those standard voltages for their specific circuit.
If you look at the data for each tube, you can determine it's maximum plate voltage allowance. And again, varying by 10% shouldn't harm anything.

_________________
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\He Who Dies With The Most Radios Wins/////////////////////////


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power supply for farm radio
PostPosted: Jan Mon 30, 2017 12:08 am 
Member

Joined: Sep Sat 06, 2008 3:04 am
Posts: 231
Location: Benton City, WA
Chas wrote:
When I was working I ordered for the shop a PACE triple re-work station. I can remember exactly the model number but it was in an attractive sculpted cabinet. That one bit of equipment literally made a technician hero out me. One of the best re-work soldering systems I have ever used. That and a China charcoal barbecue were my key equipment for repairing SM circuit boards. Barbecue? I'll tell what it did later, If you really want to know... Oh, the regret?


What did the barbecue do? Or was that just a variation of the toaster oven or electric skillet method?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power supply for farm radio
PostPosted: Jan Mon 30, 2017 12:49 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct Mon 17, 2016 7:34 pm
Posts: 398
fifties wrote:
Re-read my last post. Given that batteries were made in specific voltage ranges, 45, 67.5, 90, 130, etc., radio manufacturers would recommend one of those standard voltages for their specific circuit.
If you look at the data for each tube, you can determine it's maximum plate voltage allowance. And again, varying by 10% shouldn't harm anything.

I see now. Yes, the voltage without the pot was only high by 6 volts. So I could probably do without it. Thanks.

Another option I have is to use a different tube. Norm Leal said "You could interchange an 0A3 and 0B3 in your power supply to change voltages. Same pin out, just different voltages", 75 volts in that case.

I imagine a Zener diode would drop the voltage too. I liked the pot because I could just dial in the exact voltage.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power supply for farm radio
PostPosted: Sep Mon 16, 2019 10:52 pm 
Member

Joined: Sep Sun 15, 2019 9:25 pm
Posts: 91
Location: Kingsport, Tn
One more question. Why is it that everybody uses d batteries for the 1.5v? Won’t a 1.5v AA work?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power supply for farm radio
PostPosted: Sep Mon 16, 2019 11:36 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug Wed 26, 2009 1:50 am
Posts: 1602
Location: Mesquite NV 89027 (from Coventry, UK)
Vinylnut91 wrote:
One more question. Why is it that everybody uses d batteries for the 1.5v? Won’t a 1.5v AA work?

Because a AA battery wouldn’t last long enough. One could be used, of course, but it would require replacement at very frequent intervals.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  
































-->


Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB