Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Oct Thu 17, 2019 4:53 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 269 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 14  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sat 26, 2017 8:51 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23854
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
John:
You can try setting up your printer & word processor pgm to do the printing like I did.
or if that's not easy enough.
You might consider a rotating Rubber stamp to mark the envelopes.
A stamp with enough bands for the amount of numbers you'll use and a band for alpha characters too.

so you may want to stamp just 100 K
or for the number code 104 for older resistors
or 1003 for newer precision.

100k = (brown, black, yellow) or ( brown, black, black, orange)

So think about what numbers would be needed and what letters.

https://www.acornsales.com/Regular-Line ... -rln-0.htm

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sat 26, 2017 10:14 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 20267
Location: Warner Robins, GA
john8750 wrote:
Tube Radio wrote:
No the amp will get its signal from a crossover.

Best to look at a Motorola three channel amp schematic and see how the crossover is done then duplicate the crossover.

When you build the amp if you buy a new edcor output transformer it should be good to 20Hz, but your speaker will determine how low of a frequency is reproduced.



I don't understand how a crossover would work. If the Philco is only amplifying down to about 70hz. The 6X9's are supposedly rated at 25-22khz( yeah right)
Wont I need a whole separate amp?


Yes you would need a separate amp.

Just look at a three channel Motorola schematic to get some sort of idea how it can be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 4:39 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5159
Location: Los Angeles
Pbpix wrote:
John:
You can try setting up your printer & word processor pgm to do the printing like I did.
or if that's not easy enough.
You might consider a rotating Rubber stamp to mark the envelopes.
A stamp with enough bands for the amount of numbers you'll use and a band for alpha characters too.

so you may want to stamp just 100 K
or for the number code 104 for older resistors
or 1003 for newer precision.

100k = (brown, black, yellow) or ( brown, black, black, orange)

So think about what numbers would be needed and what letters.

https://www.acornsales.com/Regular-Line ... -rln-0.htm



Good idea Peter. My wife wants to stock them for me. I told her its not that easy, and the baggie idea will not work good. So, she goes shopping and came back with four, 4, parts containers with about 20 sections each, and stick-on labels. OK, go ahead I told her. After she realized you need to use the meter to read the loose ones, she turned the job back over to me. I love that girl......

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 4:40 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5159
Location: Los Angeles
Tube Radio wrote:
john8750 wrote:
Tube Radio wrote:
No the amp will get its signal from a crossover.

Best to look at a Motorola three channel amp schematic and see how the crossover is done then duplicate the crossover.

When you build the amp if you buy a new edcor output transformer it should be good to 20Hz, but your speaker will determine how low of a frequency is reproduced.



I don't understand how a crossover would work. If the Philco is only amplifying down to about 70hz. The 6X9's are supposedly rated at 25-22khz( yeah right)
Wont I need a whole separate amp?


Yes you would need a separate amp.

Just look at a three channel Motorola schematic to get some sort of idea how it can be done.


OK, can I find that schematic on line?? Thanks......

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 5:04 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 20267
Location: Warner Robins, GA
You might be able to or perhaps someone on the forums here has one you can look at.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 5:25 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23854
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:


Good idea Peter. My wife wants to stock them for me. I told her its not that easy, and the baggie idea will not work good. So, she goes shopping and came back with four, 4, parts containers with about 20 sections each, and stick-on labels. OK, go ahead I told her. After she realized you need to use the meter to read the loose ones, she turned the job back over to me. I love that girl......

Parts boxes with little sections can be a headache because the resistor leads may not fit and sometimes, depending on if the bins have moveable partitions, the leads get caught under it, and hard to get them out..
Aslo if you ever drop it.. the parts are all over the floor.
Believe me, these envelopes are the BEST... and they can't spill and they don't take up much space.
If you want each bin to be in numerical order.... then one day you buy more resistors that go in between... you cannot do it.
But with envelopes you just make one more envelope and slip it in between... easy.
I've tried a lot of methods and found these envelopes to be the easiest.

Parts bins are not cheap either. The envelopes (500) only cost about $30.
Put em in a cardboard box (free).
No headaches.
I'd return those boxes and follow the path already well proven.


But, up to you.
... try what ever... live and learn.

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 5:47 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 20267
Location: Warner Robins, GA
I've got the schematic to a Motorola three channel amp either on my laptop or my computer at work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 5:49 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5159
Location: Los Angeles
Peter
Believe me, I agree with you. Now you come out here and tell it to my wife :roll: :roll:

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 5:50 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5159
Location: Los Angeles
Tube Radio wrote:
I've got the schematic to a Motorola three channel amp either on my laptop or my computer at work.



Cool. I could not find it on a Google search.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 5:53 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23854
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
Peter
Believe me, I agree with you. Now you come out here and tell it to my wife :roll: :roll:

She already gave up... right?
Tell her to prove her idea is better and stick to it and finish the job... not just dump it back in your lap... lol.

So you get the envelopes and she'll eventually bring t he parts bins back.

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 8:05 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5159
Location: Los Angeles
Pbpix wrote:
john8750 wrote:
Peter
Believe me, I agree with you. Now you come out here and tell it to my wife :roll: :roll:

She already gave up... right?
Tell her to prove her idea is better and stick to it and finish the job... not just dump it back in your lap... lol.

So you get the envelopes and she'll eventually bring t he parts bins back.



I will do that Peter. But must find a way to use the parts box's for something else.
Happy wife, happy life.
If you look to the west, and see smoke today, you will know it didn't work.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 8:26 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23854
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
Pbpix wrote:
john8750 wrote:
Peter
Believe me, I agree with you. Now you come out here and tell it to my wife :roll: :roll:

She already gave up... right?
Tell her to prove her idea is better and stick to it and finish the job... not just dump it back in your lap... lol.

So you get the envelopes and she'll eventually bring t he parts bins back.



I will do that Peter. But must find a way to use the parts box's for something else.
Happy wife, happy life.
If you look to the west, and see smoke today, you will know it didn't work.

I use the parts bins for capacitors... they work great for radial lead caps and such as that which have fatter bodies and without long leads:

Attachment:
PartsBins.jpg
PartsBins.jpg [ 167.09 KiB | Viewed 1939 times ]

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 10:43 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5159
Location: Los Angeles
Cool Peter.
I know where to send all my extra parts.....
Here is the latest photo of the Philco amp. Only three caps left to install, waiting on the order from Just Radios.
http://www.justradios.com/uFnFpF.html
Attachment:
philco6.jpg
philco6.jpg [ 123.99 KiB | Viewed 1937 times ]

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Sun 27, 2017 11:26 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23854
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
Cool Peter.
I know where to send all my extra parts.....
Here is the latest photo of the Philco amp. Only three caps left to install, waiting on the order from Just Radios.
http://www.justradios.com/uFnFpF.html
Attachment:
philco6.jpg

Very nice. If you make it look too beautiful underneath you'll have to mount it upside down.

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 28, 2017 1:37 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5159
Location: Los Angeles
Pbpix wrote:
john8750 wrote:
Cool Peter.
I know where to send all my extra parts.....
Here is the latest photo of the Philco amp. Only three caps left to install, waiting on the order from Just Radios.
http://www.justradios.com/uFnFpF.html
Attachment:
philco6.jpg

Very nice. If you make it look too beautiful underneath you'll have to mount it upside down.


Thanks to you Peter, I will have two restored vintage amps for the Zenith. I think they will sound great.
Yes. I could mount them on the side, or on a mirrored pedestal. It is for show and tell ya know.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 28, 2017 1:44 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5159
Location: Los Angeles
A double rack in my hobby shop for airplanes and trains. The Zenith sit just to the right of this rack. I will get some photos.
Attachment:
hshop.jpg
hshop.jpg [ 179.57 KiB | Viewed 1934 times ]

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 28, 2017 2:06 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 23854
Location: Haledon, NJ, usa
john8750 wrote:
A double rack in my hobby shop for airplanes and trains. The Zenith sit just to the right of this rack. I will get some photos.
Attachment:
hshop.jpg

Those are model kits you still plan to build?
Wow... you'd better live a hell of a long life John!

_________________
To be a man, Be a non-conformist, Nothing's sacred as the integrity of your own mind.
-Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 28, 2017 2:21 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5159
Location: Los Angeles
Pbpix wrote:
john8750 wrote:
A double rack in my hobby shop for airplanes and trains. The Zenith sit just to the right of this rack. I will get some photos.
Attachment:
hshop.jpg

Those are model kits you still plan to build?
Wow... you'd better live a hell of a long life John!



No. I just collect them. Some kits are from the 60's and still in the clear wrapping.

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 28, 2017 3:27 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 20267
Location: Warner Robins, GA
I have the Motorola schematic on my work computer.

If you will PM me your email I can send it to you tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Philco amp re-build.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 28, 2017 7:38 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec Mon 29, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 5159
Location: Los Angeles
Just got all parts from JUST RADIOS. So will finish the first amp soon.
BTW-- JUST RADIOS-- is a great source of quality audio parts.
(mod, hope this is ok to mention....)

_________________
John Smith, over and out.
If I did something right, I made a mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 269 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 14  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Norm Johnson and 3 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB