Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Tue 20, 2020 4:05 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Low end roll off performance on amplifier?
PostPosted: Aug Tue 11, 2020 8:04 pm 

Hello,

I am currently working on finishing up an amplifier using this circuit:

http://www.hi-ho.ne.jp/ux-45/smokey.html

It *seems* a bit bass shy. I've been using http://sim.okawa-denshi.jp/en/CRtool.php to calculate the roll off point for the RC combinations and I've arrived at the following results:

C1/R5 = 0.78hz

C5/R2 = 7.2hz

I'm quite new at this so please excuse any errors. Also, how does the input potentiometer affect tonality? Does frequency response change depending on the load that the device connected to the input of the amplifier presents to it?

I plan on using the amplifier mostly with low impedance sources such as tablets, mp3 players and tube circuits that are terminated by an output transformer that expects an 8 ohm load on the output.

Post subject: Re: Low end roll off performance on amplifier?
PostPosted: Aug Tue 11, 2020 8:29 pm 

I would expect the low end response to be limited by the output transformer. Tell us its specs / parameters.

Other:
C1-R5 has a time constant of 0.103 sec. That makes the corner frequency about 1.5Hz.

C5 is the decoupling for the 1S5 screen voltage---i don't think that's relevant to the overall frequency response. C6, however, is relevant but I still think the OPT is the dominant issue.

PostPosted: Aug Tue 11, 2020 8:49 pm 

I am currently using it with a Hammond 144Q transformer which, taken from the Hammond website, has a frequency response of "150 Hz. to 15 Khz. (+/- 1 db, reference 1000 Hz.)"

I understand that 150hz isn't exceptionally low in bass extension but, even so, the amplifier does seem a bit tinny.