Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Sep Mon 16, 2019 1:09 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Soundesign Model 5954 Information
PostPosted: Jun Mon 24, 2019 7:17 pm 

I just aquired a Soundesign Model 5954 AM/FM, Cassette, 8 Track , Record's in both Cassette, and 8 Track. Made in Japan. Has that mid to late 1970's look . Can someone tell me the Date of MFG what speakers are compatible etc ? I am new to this Hobby so please be kind Thanks.

Post subject: Re: Soundesign Model 5954 Information
PostPosted: Jun Mon 24, 2019 8:23 pm 

It was made from 1979 to 1982. Any ole' set of 8 ohm speakers should be just fine. Don't blow a ton of money on the speakers. These were cheap units when new and so you're not going to get amazing sound out of them. Consider going to the salvation army or a flea market and look for 70's-80's vintage speakers.

PostPosted: Jun Mon 24, 2019 10:22 pm 

Location: ZIP 23831 South of Richmond, VA 25 miles down the pike.
SAMS published MHF-225 in 1981 which covers Model 5954. If you look for date codes on the parts that will help too.

Bill J.

PostPosted: Jun Wed 26, 2019 2:53 am 

I just found an NOS old stock new in the box pair of SOUNDESIGN 'Model 615' Acoustic Speakers . I probably paid to much for them $68.00 . But they are a perfect match for my system. My unit 5954 is in 99% mint condition , and as I am deaf to many frequencies of sound , and yes the high end speakers would be a waste of money. Are these Speakers in the same time frame as my Model 5954 unit if anyone knows ?

Last edited by Magnavox347H on Jun Wed 26, 2019 3:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Jun Wed 26, 2019 2:58 am 

bobwilson1977 wrote: