Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Sun 08, 2019 11:13 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Aux Input
PostPosted: Nov Mon 04, 2019 1:56 am 
New Member

Joined: Dec Tue 25, 2018 9:04 pm
Posts: 10
Location: La Mesa CA
Hi, my Fisher console stereo (tubes) has an aux stereo input which I use frequently with the headphone output from my phone. Works great, my smart TV has an audio output which I would consider using as well but the output appears to be non adjustable volume wise. I don't want to damage the stereo. When I plug it in I have to keep the stereo volume very low as the output is loud enough at about 1/16 volume on the stereo volume knob. What do you think? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aux Input
PostPosted: Nov Mon 04, 2019 4:16 am 
Member

Joined: Aug Wed 24, 2011 4:35 am
Posts: 4597
Location: Sunnyvale CA
K McCarthy wrote:
Hi, my Fisher console stereo (tubes) has an aux stereo input which I use frequently with the headphone output from my phone. Works great, my smart TV has an audio output which I would consider using as well but the output appears to be non adjustable volume wise. I don't want to damage the stereo. When I plug it in I have to keep the stereo volume very low as the output is loud enough at about 1/16 volume on the stereo volume knob. What do you think? Thanks.


Most TVs have a a setting that allows the line out to be controlled by the volume control, it's just not the default. Check your audio setup menu.

Brett


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aux Input
PostPosted: Nov Mon 04, 2019 7:20 pm 
Member

Joined: Feb Thu 28, 2019 7:48 pm
Posts: 402
Location: Lawrenceville, Illinois 62439
If you're using the TV's 'headphone' jack, it is usually volume control dependent. If you are using the 'line out', they are normally at a fixed level; usually used to input into a surround sound system which has its own volume adjustment.
Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aux Input
PostPosted: Nov Tue 05, 2019 2:13 am 
New Member

Joined: Dec Tue 25, 2018 9:04 pm
Posts: 10
Location: La Mesa CA
Yes , mine has the line out, no headphone. It doesn't respond to the volume control. My concern is that it may have too much output.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aux Input
PostPosted: Nov Tue 05, 2019 3:58 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug Sat 27, 2011 1:59 am
Posts: 169
Location: Kansas City area
K McCarthy wrote:
Yes , mine has the line out, no headphone. It doesn't respond to the volume control. My concern is that it may have too much output.

If might be ok. Might be more a matter of being inconvenient having to adjust TV volume on the Fisher.

If it is too much volume from the TV you just need the "poor man's mixer". Just a simple potentiometer and a resistor, or two. Build it in 10 minutes. You'll be able to control the volume to your Fisher from the fixed output of your TV. Reply back for plans if you're interested.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aux Input
PostPosted: Nov Tue 05, 2019 3:23 pm 
New Member

Joined: Dec Tue 25, 2018 9:04 pm
Posts: 10
Location: La Mesa CA
Thanks, no I don't mind adjusting the volume through the stereo. I just don't want to damage it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aux Input
PostPosted: Nov Wed 06, 2019 12:23 am 
Member

Joined: Nov Wed 30, 2016 7:35 pm
Posts: 5361
Location: Sunbury, Ohio 43074
You won't damage the Fisher with this setup, but you may be close to or actually into overload on the input. If it's still "listenable" even if this is the case it's still not in the danger zone, but may not sound as good as it can. You can build a simple pad (one for each channel) out of a few resistors, or use the resistor/potentiometer approach, between the TV and the Fisher. I'd start with knocking the level down by 50%. Schematics are all over the net... just google H pad or T pad. I wouldn't worry too much about precise values, as long as you use the same for L and R .. .since you are not concerned about precision level control here.

IF you can look up the TV output specs (i.e. 600 ohms) and the Fisher input specs (i.e. same or 10k ohms or whatever) .... you want to know if each piece is either low or high impedance, and you can select the proper pad.

personally I'd try this calculator and plug in your values, or just "fiddle with it" along these lines. http://www.nu9n.com/tpad-calculator.html

Again, I think a simple T pad should be fine for what you're doing. If you were after precision, the H pad would be my go-to.

_________________
Preserving the hist. of electronics, one boat anchor at a time! :)
https://www.bbtvtestequipment.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aux Input
PostPosted: Nov Fri 08, 2019 11:57 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 20389
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Check the TV settings and see if the line out can be set to variable.

Some have that feature. Often it is done by turning the internal speakers off.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB