Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Jun Wed 03, 2020 5:11 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Marantz SR 4000 Receiver
PostPosted: Feb Sun 02, 2020 8:59 pm 

My neighbor gave me this receiver to try and fix as his friend who is a tech guy gave up on it.. It will not power up. I hooked it up to my dim bulb tester and the bulb lit up like a Christmas tree but the receiver would not come on.. I opened it and checked the transformer and it is putting out ac, the fuses have not blown. I disconnected the B+ line and got about 60 volts with the dim bulb tester flaring up and then going out. This unit uses those Hybrid amp modules along with another Hybrid module as a driver I believe. The amp modules are STK 0050 II good for 50 watts or so.
It would appear that one or both modules are shot but I am not sure how to test them.. Should they be removed or left in without powering up the receiver ?

From searching around I have found there is not a lot of love for these particular amp modules and most replacements are Chinese fakes that do not last at all. If anyone has any experience or tips on checking the unit out, it would be appreciated,, I have downloaded the service manual from HiFi Engine to help out. I have not had any experience with these hybrids and prefer discrete components that you can test and replace with substitutes.

Thanks for your time Cheers Wayne

Post subject: Re: Marantz SR 4000 Receiver
PostPosted: Feb Sun 02, 2020 9:08 pm 

I learned for the most part...If someone's been in it (the tech guy) before and it's still in-op, probably not worth the effort. Especially with the modules. Good chance the previous tech may have messed up some stuff too. Have at it...but I'd probably let it go...just my $0.02.

PostPosted: Feb Sun 02, 2020 9:21 pm 

Thanks Tbirdkid.. I will see what I can do and then let it sail off into the recycle bin Cheers