Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Dec Tue 06, 2022 4:37 am


All times are UTC





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 2:15 am 
Member

Joined: Aug Mon 17, 2009 3:11 pm
Posts: 4165
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
I see this quite often. Does anyone recognize it's portrait?


Attachments:
Image1.jpg
Image1.jpg [ 475.6 KiB | Viewed 815 times ]

_________________
The lucky ones realize the "Good Ole Days" while they are still in them!
AA5LP
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 2:33 am 
Member

Joined: Dec Sun 06, 2020 9:33 pm
Posts: 301
Location: Waterbury, CT. 06704
Possibly a Cuban "tapper" station. They have been actively jamming the 40 meter band. They may have expanded.

_________________
To keep a true perspective of one's importance, everyone should have a cat that will ignore them.​


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 12:15 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 12:00 am
Posts: 2634
Location: Virginia Beach Va
The 10140 might be a harmonic of WTWW 5070 .
I don’t see any time indications. Was this at night?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 12:20 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 12:00 am
Posts: 22796
Location: Somers CT
10.130 MHz is the FT8 mode operating frequency.

_________________
Just because it can be done doesn't mean it should be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 12:27 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 12:00 am
Posts: 2634
Location: Virginia Beach Va
MFSK ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 1:56 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 12:00 am
Posts: 22796
Location: Somers CT
davep wrote:
The 10140 might be a harmonic of WTWW 5070 .
I don’t see any time indications. Was this at night?



Might Be FT-4 digital signals. 10140 kHz is the FT-4 default. BTW, FT-8 uses 30_secobd timed intervals, have you listed to the frequency in USB mode? FT-4 uses 30 second intervals. and they are synced to within a 10th of a second or so.

_________________
Just because it can be done doesn't mean it should be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 2:08 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 12:00 am
Posts: 2634
Location: Virginia Beach Va
That would be the gaps in the waterfall plot. Thanks Peter
Dennis, you might have decoding software in your extension dropdown


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 2:49 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 12:00 am
Posts: 22796
Location: Somers CT
ft4 is 15 seconds, correction. you see similar at 14074 kc?

_________________
Just because it can be done doesn't mean it should be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 3:59 pm 
Member

Joined: May Tue 30, 2006 3:46 pm
Posts: 11597
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
I think FT4 is 5 seconds and FT8 is 15 seconds?

Rich

PS: WSJTx software is easy to install. You need to have a computer-to-radio USB cable, however.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 4:17 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 12:00 am
Posts: 2634
Location: Virginia Beach Va
https://www.dxzone.com/ft4-frequencies/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Mon 08, 2022 6:26 pm 
Member

Joined: Aug Mon 17, 2009 3:11 pm
Posts: 4165
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Thanks guys. This was taken later on Sunday evening. I don't see it Monday. I think I'll load some software and see if I can decode it.

_________________
The lucky ones realize the "Good Ole Days" while they are still in them!
AA5LP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Tue 09, 2022 10:35 am 
Member

Joined: Sep Thu 30, 2021 6:57 pm
Posts: 131
Location: Keene, NH USA
It could be a USA amateur radio (digital mode) operator, but I doubt it. It doesn't look like a digital signal and 30m Voice is not allowed in the USA.

As far as amateur radio goes in the USA, we are secondary on 30 meters. "Fixed Services" are primary. It's hard to find much about those type of transmissions, because they are used by private, government, military entities and mostly outside the USA, for example NATO and some foreign embassies. Most Fixed Services are point-to-point.

I would think anything using 30m for that purpose is antiquated. Higher frequencies with digital encryption would be better suited these days.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What mode is this signal on 30 meters.
PostPosted: Aug Tue 09, 2022 8:45 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 12:00 am
Posts: 22796
Location: Somers CT
FT8.

_________________
Just because it can be done doesn't mean it should be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 13 posts ]  Moderator: Alan Voorhees

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bhnsedcvb657, box13, joelandjoyce, mhuston26, nash and 10 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB