Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Oct Sat 16, 2021 9:16 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Fri 24, 2021 5:07 am 
Member

Joined: Apr Sat 04, 2020 5:44 am
Posts: 28
I was repairing this RCA 8-PT-7011 when the wire going to pin one on the flyback transformer broke at the base and I can't get to it. The only thing I can think of is by partially unwinding the back since that connection is at the end of the winding. Any ideas?


Attachments:
File comment: Schematic
Screenshot_20210923-210223_Drive.jpg
Screenshot_20210923-210223_Drive.jpg [ 272.65 KiB | Viewed 710 times ]
File comment: Transformer
20210923_210157.jpg
20210923_210157.jpg [ 3.69 MiB | Viewed 710 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Fri 24, 2021 1:48 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 27843
Location: Detroit, MI USA
At this point, I don't think you have anything to lose by attempting that nor do I see any other possible way to retrieve the end of that wire.

However, I think that if you simply moved the connection from pin 1 to pin 2 and eliminated the width coil, the set would work although the picture may be too wide.

_________________
Dennis

Experience is what you gain when the results aren't what you were expecting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Fri 24, 2021 3:22 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 13272
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
How close is the RCA 8-PT-7011 to the RCA 8-PT-7030? I have several of them and surely am not going to restore them all. I would probably have a flyback that I could extract for you. But I will be away for about two and one half weeks from now. Just a thought.

_________________
Don


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Fri 24, 2021 5:26 pm 
Member

Joined: Apr Sat 04, 2020 5:44 am
Posts: 28
I was able to get the wire back, unfortunately then one of the wires for pin 3 snapped. Guess thats what I get for messing around with this tech :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Fri 24, 2021 5:28 pm 
Member

Joined: Apr Sat 04, 2020 5:44 am
Posts: 28
Don the main difference is I think on the 7030 the flyback has a separate tap for the damper tube so idk if i can use that model flyback :/

I'll keep trying and see what I can manage.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Fri 24, 2021 6:52 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 13272
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Nomking wrote:
Don the main difference is I think on the 7030 the flyback has a separate tap for the damper tube so idk if i can use that model flyback :/

I'll keep trying and see what I can manage.

OK, thanks for getting back to me. I don't seem to have a schematic for either model of the RCA to compare.

_________________
Don


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Fri 24, 2021 9:19 pm 
Member

Joined: May Thu 14, 2015 4:15 pm
Posts: 3482
Location: Dallas, TX
Nomking, according to the RCA service data, which I think you have, they all use the same flyback, #102985.
They are wired differently with some chassis not using one of the taps.

_________________
Tim
It's not the Destination, It's the Journey.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Fri 24, 2021 9:43 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 9996
Location: Redlands CA
The Flyback on these is enclosed in a metal case, there's no caps inside so curious how/why you took this apart?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Sat 25, 2021 5:59 am 
Member

Joined: Apr Sat 04, 2020 5:44 am
Posts: 28
The previous owner overheated it and damaged some bits inside the caseing


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Sat 25, 2021 6:00 am 
Member

Joined: Apr Sat 04, 2020 5:44 am
Posts: 28
If they are all the same model transformer then I guess that transformer would work after all. Would you have any contact info don?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Sat 25, 2021 6:29 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 9996
Location: Redlands CA
I used to have some parts chassis out in the garage, can’t remember if they’re still there but I can check tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Mon 27, 2021 12:32 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 885
Location: Rockaway , nj 07866
If you know the merrit hvo number I might have one


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Tue 28, 2021 2:20 am 
Member

Joined: Dec Mon 23, 2019 5:52 pm
Posts: 614
102985 is not even listed in my 1966 Merit book. Thordarson does list the number, but gives no sub.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Tue 28, 2021 3:17 am 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 27843
Location: Detroit, MI USA
i don't recall that there were ever any aftermarket replacements for that one, you could only get them through RCA parts.

_________________
Dennis

Experience is what you gain when the results aren't what you were expecting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Tue 28, 2021 6:53 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 9996
Location: Redlands CA
I looked through my parts stash and no luck. These sets are common as dirt, a junker should show up eventually.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Sep Wed 29, 2021 1:14 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 13272
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Nomking wrote:
If they are all the same model transformer then I guess that transformer would work after all. Would you have any contact info don?

Sorry for the delay in responding. I am on vacation right now, out of town. As with all members here, you can us the PM or private message function. I am sure that one of the sets I have can be parted out.

I figured those sets probably used similar components.

I will be back home next week.

_________________
Don


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Oct Sun 03, 2021 5:34 am 
Member

Joined: Apr Sat 04, 2020 5:44 am
Posts: 28
Don Cavey wrote:
Nomking wrote:
If they are all the same model transformer then I guess that transformer would work after all. Would you have any contact info don?

Sorry for the delay in responding. I am on vacation right now, out of town. As with all members here, you can us the PM or private message function. I am sure that one of the sets I have can be parted out.

I figured those sets probably used similar components.

I will be back home next week.


I was able to get the leads back and they all test positive for continuity!
I'll be able to test it later tomorrow!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Oct Wed 06, 2021 5:13 am 
Member

Joined: Apr Sat 04, 2020 5:44 am
Posts: 28
I'm gonna guess it would be ok to use 36 awg wire to make the connections from the transformer to the socket and terminals? The original used that so I assume its ok?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Oct Wed 06, 2021 6:13 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar Sun 01, 2009 10:27 pm
Posts: 5821
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
It does not matter what gauge wire you use as long as it is light enough to not stress the wire from the flyback when you bend it to connect it to the terminal.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flyback transformer help!
PostPosted: Oct Wed 06, 2021 11:37 pm 
Member

Joined: May Thu 14, 2015 4:15 pm
Posts: 3482
Location: Dallas, TX
I don't know where you came up with 36 gauge wire, that would be as thin as a fine hair (0.005 inch dia). Even 30 (0.010 inch dia.) gauge is extremely fine. Maybe that was a typo, 26 gauge might be about right. You might try using a strand from a copper power cord.

_________________
Tim
It's not the Destination, It's the Journey.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 24 posts ]  Moderators: Mr. Detrola, 7jp4-guy Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB