Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Dec Sun 08, 2019 12:23 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Getting started on Admiral 19F1
PostPosted: Jul Sun 28, 2019 5:57 pm 

Hello all, as of now I am currently getting into my first television restoration. I have restored a dozen or so radios, and have developed a decent knowledge of vintage electronics. I have all the basic test equipment, scope, multi-meter, signal generator, frequency counter, etc. I am seeking suggestions on what other equipment I might need to acquire to take on this television. Such as a CRT tester? As well as what I need to get a signal/picture to the television. At my age of only 20 years old I have little to no experience dealing with television antennas, or analog reception. So I am really looking for the most elementary explanation possible on how to get picture to my television. I have already started recapping, but nothing further than that. Thank you all in advance.

Post subject: Re: Getting started on Admiral 19F1
PostPosted: Jul Sun 28, 2019 7:56 pm 

There are a couple of ways of getting an analog TV signal (technical term NTSC). The "Video Out" on
DVD and VHS players is what is called baseband NTSC video and need to be put into a TV RF modulator, here is one example that isn't very expensive.
https://www.amazon.com/RCA-Compact-RF-M ... 5337&psc=1
Just to check things out another way is to use a old video game.
A third way is to use a DTV to analog convertor box with an antenna, you can find the boxes for less than $ 30. You tune digital stations in using a remote for the box.
One thing about all the above is that they put the analog RF out only channel 3 or 4, so the vintage TV tuner only has to work (or be adjusted) for those channels.