Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Thu 21, 2021 1:07 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: RCA New Vista MGW78W One Channel Distortion
PostPosted: Aug Tue 31, 2021 5:03 am 

Hello there group,

This is my first post here to this forum and I'm hoping that I could receive some help in my current project and hopefully learn something new along the way as I'm still a novice in electronics repair.

I recently acquired this RCA New Vista record player console Model#: MGW78W.

Before even plugging it in I noticed a few of the plastic cased ecaps in amp were cracked and broken, so I replaced all ecaps in amp. Noticed that one channel was low and distorted or static. Thought it may be an output transistor but all four checked out with VM. Did a clip lead test to switch inputs to see if it was isolated to one output channel. The issue moved as I swapped clip leads so issue must be in preamp.

I then replaced all ecaps in preamp and unfortunately same issue.

Up to this point I've been using the FM stereo option which shows that the right channel has low volume and static. To test a different function, I switched to the phonograph and the issue switched channels.

I cleaned all controls and pots with contact cleaner and worked them all throughly.

From anyone's experience, does this sound like the issue is within the function selection switch or transitor within preamp? Could the switch change left to right depending on function but there be an issue component on a board that obviously is isolated to one channel?

I've been using sams photofact set 820 folder 6 for a guide.
Tuner is Model#: RC-1218H
Amp is Model#: RS-209B

I have attached photos for better visual reference.

If anyone is willing to help me it is most appreciated as I'd love to hear this units full potential!

Thank you all

Attachments:
File comment: Amp
20210727_162254.jpg