Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently Oct Sun 24, 2021 4:37 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: ** SX-17: need pix of the insides! **
PostPosted: Sep Fri 17, 2021 3:28 am 

I have many radios like most people here: this one is a one owner great condition SX-17 (later model with the 6H6) I got from one of the developers of the Cray computer. So for a EE/Comp Sci guy its cool to own something owned by one of the key guys who developed a revolutionary computer system I studied as an undergrad.

The guy bought this new as a kid and used it then used it until about the 1970s and stored it in his house - he had the R-17 too but it got lost in a move.

This set had not been powered on since maybe 1978. Anyway I replace the wax crayon caps, tested the tubes and fired it up with a variac. It made a hum and then smoked a 1K resistor (on schematic). Not what I expected - I have repaired and worked on about 20 SX-28s in the last 90 days in all conditions and I did not expect a smoking resistor of unknown reason on such a nice condition set...

Attachment:
IMG-7191.JPG
IMG-7191.JPG [ 985.75 KiB | Viewed 500 times ]

Closeup of the smoker resistor (1K - R39 I believe):

Attachment:
Screen Shot 2021-09-16 at 9.25.54 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-09-16 at 9.25.54 PM.png [ 860.26 KiB | Viewed 500 times ]

Last edited by mrrstrat on Sep Fri 17, 2021 3:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: ** SX-17: need pix of the insides! **
PostPosted: Sep Fri 17, 2021 3:30 am 

Some pix of the "problem zone":

Attachment:
IMG-7195.jpg
IMG-7195.jpg [ 2.15 MiB | Viewed 498 times ]

Attachment:
IMG-7194.jpg
IMG-7194.jpg [ 2.62 MiB | Viewed 498 times ]

PostPosted: Sep Fri 17, 2021 3:39 am