Forums :: NEW! Web Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Jun Wed 23, 2021 5:37 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 2:18 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Mon 16, 2015 4:01 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Toronto , Ont CANADA
I am working on a General Electric model A-63 from 1935 . I am having a problem with the condensers used in this unit . I do know that GE and RCA used the same chassis at this time . My problem is the proprietary condenser codes . I can't find any info on translating the numbers on the condensers to the value for restoration replacement . Does any one out there know this code or where to find it ? :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 2:28 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 10271
Location: 13 Critchley Avenue, PO Box 36, Monteith Ont, P0K 1P0
Here is the schematic :

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/pagesbymode ... 007753.pdf

The values are listed on the schematic, so if you go by the location of the component, the schematic will give you the value. Voltages can be estimated by the position of the component and how much voltage there will be (plate vs grid etc).

All the components are also listed further down in the document.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 2:31 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Tue 14, 2017 5:09 am
Posts: 3824
Location: Austin, Texas
Do they have the stock no. codes?
Attachment:
Codes.jpg
Codes.jpg [ 72.15 KiB | Viewed 418 times ]


Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 6:28 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Mon 16, 2015 4:01 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Toronto , Ont CANADA
Ok thanks for this info but the numbers I am dealing with are : 66139-1 ,G27, G21 , G5 ,G2 , 39 on the condensers....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 6:57 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Mon 16, 2015 4:01 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Toronto , Ont CANADA
I think the "G" I am seeing is a "C " and the numbers are the location designation ... now I can continue with no problems ... thanks for your help .... I don't have this info ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 7:03 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Mon 16, 2015 4:01 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Toronto , Ont CANADA
I did notice that the parts list does not match my model I have about 12 condensers to replace ... the parts list only has 9 condensers ....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 7:46 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 10271
Location: 13 Critchley Avenue, PO Box 36, Monteith Ont, P0K 1P0
Rudedaddy wrote:
I did notice that the parts list does not match my model I have about 12 condensers to replace ... the parts list only has 9 condensers ....


Some will be trimmers, tuning caps, filter capacitors, and there might be a small mica cap buried in the osc section somewhere.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 8:59 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Mon 16, 2015 4:01 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Toronto , Ont CANADA
I am checking all paper condensers .... I should clarify a few things .... this is a Canadian model using glass tubes

tube line up : 6A7 , 6K6 , 6K6 , 6B7 , 6F6 , 80
LW , SW ..... 1935


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 9:15 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Mon 16, 2015 4:01 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Toronto , Ont CANADA
It is not the same as the American model ....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 9:39 pm 
Member

Joined: Nov Mon 16, 2015 4:01 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Toronto , Ont CANADA
https://www.radiomuseum.org/r/canadian_g_a63.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Thu 06, 2021 9:39 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan Tue 31, 2012 1:55 am
Posts: 17148
Location: Mountains of Mourne. Ireland.
All component values are shown on the schematic.
http://pacifictv.ca/schematics/rca-a63d ... ubmit&db=5

Mmfd...
viewtopic.php?p=3318709#p3318709

Alignment instructions attached below.
Greg.


Attachments:
Alignment. General Electric. A-63.pdf [1.26 MiB]
Downloaded 13 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Fri 07, 2021 12:44 am 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Feb Sun 01, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 12261
Location: Victoria, Australia
The most appropriate check for wax paper caps is in the counting. You look at the schematic and the parts list & ensure you have that number consigned to the bin.

Trap: The capacity may read right. However, if tested at there working volts or running voltage, using an insulation tester, things will be very different. If there is any leakage shown; here they go in the bin. Leakage can seriously impinge on bias an consequentially, performance.

Marcc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Fri 07, 2021 1:24 am 
Member

Joined: Nov Mon 16, 2015 4:01 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Toronto , Ont CANADA
Your so right ... I tried that , what I found out the value on my ESR capacitor checker did not match what was on the schematic....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Electric A-63 Condensers
PostPosted: May Fri 07, 2021 12:30 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Feb Sun 01, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 12261
Location: Victoria, Australia
With the Insulation tester, one does not use it on electrolytics. The Lafayette info here says screen decoupling should not be below 50Meg and coupling 200megohms. The probability of finding any Wax Paper types that good is remote and several Bakelite clad Micamold are not Mica, it's a Trademark. A leaking cap is not to be trusted. Electrolytic's need to leak because of what they are, but even that has a limit.

Marc


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 14 posts ]  Moderators: Norm Leal, Marcc

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JnTX, scstill, stone3035, westcoastjohn and 55 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  


































Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB