Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives :: Books
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise


It is currently Apr Wed 24, 2019 2:58 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Philco Model 60 question
PostPosted: Feb Thu 19, 2004 6:59 pm 
New Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 14
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Hi,<P>Got two questions. <BR>1. When I inspected my "new" Philco Model 60 underneath, I found a burn mark on the rect. 80 tube socket between pins 1 and 2. A closer look shows something actually burned a hole through the socket to the chassis. <BR>I'm hoping someone has seen this problem and advise me how to troubleshoot this it before I power it up. <BR>2. Where I can I buy a 4 pin socket to replace this? <P>Thanks<BR>RL<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Philco Model 60 question
PostPosted: Feb Thu 19, 2004 7:19 pm 
Moderator

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 27413
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Hi, Replacing the socket should cure the problem. Most likely some moisture was absorbed into the phenolic material and caused it to begin arcing, which would eventually burn a hole through the socket. This kind of failure is sometimes seen on tube sockets, especially on rectifier and audio output tubes. It is very unlikely that the failure was caused by anything other than the socket itself. There are quite high AC voltages on pins 2 and 3, and high DC voltages on pins 1 and 4 so it does not take much contamination of the socket material before it starts to break down.<P><BR>------------------<BR>Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Philco Model 60 question
PostPosted: Feb Thu 19, 2004 7:27 pm 
New Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 14
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Dennis,<P>Thank you, I also have model 89 with the same sympthoms. <P>Would you have an idea where to get a replacement?<P>Thanks again<BR>RL<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Philco Model 60 question
PostPosted: Feb Thu 19, 2004 9:09 pm 
Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 1827
Location: Sanford, North Carolina
Hi RL<BR>The problem is just Dennis says a carbon track in the socket. You can never take it out, just get a new one from AES<BR>Same problem with the 89 huh. Also replace that to<BR> Now both the 60 and 89’s have a lot of changes in them, make sure you have the right Schematic’s for both them<P>If you want them just E/mail me<P>NEVER A CHARGE FOR PHILCO INFORMATION<P><P>------------------<BR>Rick Dippolito<BR>THE PHILCO RESTORER at<BR> <A HREF="http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html" TARGET=_blank>http://hometown.aol.com/philcorestorer/myhomepage/index.html</A>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Philco Model 60 question
PostPosted: Feb Fri 20, 2004 4:47 pm 
New Member

Joined: Jan Thu 01, 1970 1:00 am
Posts: 14
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Thanks Rick, <P>I may need more help with this radio later<P><BR>RL<P>------------------<BR>


Top
 Profile  
 
Post New Topic Post Reply  [ 5 posts ]  Moderators: Marcc, Norm Leal

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jamr005, Jimmler, Majestic-12 [Bot], spsquires, stretch and 11 guests



Search for:
Jump to:  




























Privacy Policy :: Powered by phpBB