Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently May Fri 29, 2020 5:31 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: The five-thousandth H500 Trans-Oceanic restoration thread
PostPosted: Mar Wed 06, 2019 4:10 am 

Hello all,

I've owned a Zenith H500 TransOceanic for over 10 years now, and might finally attempt a restoration on it. I am a beginner to repairing electronics, so I've been doing a lot of reading, starting with the basics like electrolytic vs non-electrolytic capacitors, which capacitors to replace (all of them except for mica) etc. I've also done a lot of research on restoring TransOceanics specifically, and have gotten my hands on the very helpful "Badrestorer’s Illustrated Guide to Restoring the Zenith Trans-Oceanic H500" as well as read through most of the relevant information on antiqueradio.org, among other sites. But I still have some questions that I need to actually ask people who know.

About the radio I have:
It is in excellent cosmetic shape (pictures below). I honestly don't know what I would restore on it cosmetically other than removing three scuffs on the case and wiping it down. There's no corrosion at all anywhere, no peeling of the leatherette, no cracks in the plastic face. It has what I imagine to be all of the original paperwork - the operating guide, a pamphlet with a list of stations, and the schematic with a list of parts and prices. So I know this radio has never been abused, or stored poorly.