Forums :: Resources :: Features :: Photo Gallery :: Vintage Radio Shows :: Archives
Support This Site: Contributors :: Advertise

It is currently May Fri 29, 2020 10:20 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Sears Silvertone 7076 Restoration Options, Need Your Opinion
PostPosted: Apr Mon 06, 2020 3:51 am 

I was lucky enough to score a Silvertone 7076 from a thrift shop for $30. The cabinet is in great shape, but the electronics were all disassembled and in a box sitting next to it. I've never worked on a radio before, but I can solder well and know some basic circuit troubleshooting. I picked up the Photofact for it, reconnected some loose wires, cleaned & re-lubricated the record changer, and replaced some capacitors on the amplifier (was getting a 60hz AC hum in one channel). The cabinet is now pretty much working, but I need some advice on where to go from here.

• Is this receiver/amp worth continuing to refurbish, or would I be better off replacing them with some higher quality 80's hardware?
  • The turntable works well mechanically, but the audio quality it pretty bad. I put in a NoS stylus, which helped, but it still cuts in and out. I think the wires coming from the stylus may have been pinched at some point, wiggling them seems to help sometimes. It also runs a little slow. I tried cleaning the the turntable & idler wheel areas, but I still get about 32RPM. Given these issues, would I be better off replacing this with a more modern turntable?
  • The original speakers were removed before I got the cabinet. For troubleshooting, I've been using a pair of external Pioneer CS-G303 speakers. The original speakers were a 12" woofer with a 4" mid mounted inside the woofer, and a 2x6 horn. What would you recommend I do for replacement speakers?

Attachments:
IMG_20200324_225408.jpg
IMG_20200324_225408.jpg [ 682.61 KiB | Viewed 172 times ]
IMG_20200405_161336.jpg
IMG_20200405_161336.jpg [ 711.4 KiB | Viewed 172 times ]